"The Songs of Jimmie Rodgers - A Tribute" - Various Artists

Promotional Release

U2 Related Content:

Full Track Listing:

Dreaming With Tears in My Eyes – Bono (3:39)
Any Old Time – Alison Krauss and Union Station (3:46)
Waiting for a Train – Dickey Betts (4:15)
Somewhere Down Below the Mason Dixon Line – Mary Chapin Carpenter (3:36)
Miss the Mississippi and You – David Ball (3:04)
My Blue Eyed Jane – Bob Dylan (3:15)
Peach Pickin’ Time Down in Georgia – Willie Nelson (3:39)
In the Jailhouse Now – Steve Earle and the V-Roys (2:51)
Blue Yodel #9 – Jerry Garcia, David Grisman, John Kahn (4:15)
Hobo Bill’s Last Ride – Iris DeMent (3:05)
Gambling Bar Room Blues – John Mellencamp (4:01)
Mule Skinner Blues – Van Morrison (4:33)
Why Should I be Lonely – Aaron Neville (3:10)
T for Texas – Dwight Yoakam (5:31)

Background Information

Jimmie Rodgers was a country singer who was born in 1897. He was probably best known for his rhytmic yodelling. Rodgers got involved in the music industry in 1927 after tuberculosis forced him to leave his railroad career. He was active touring, and recording from 1927 – 1933, and he passed away in 1933 from tuberculosis. This tribute album was put together by Bob Dylan, and released on Dylan’s own Egyptian label. The album had originally been scheduled for an early 1996 release, but faced several delays, and was finally held to celebrate the 100th anniversary of Rodgers’ birth. The album was mentioned as early as April 1995 in Propaganda magazine where they mentioned “Bono sang and Larry drummed on a track called “Dreaming with Tears in My Eyes,” which they recorded in Dublin.”

“Dreaming With Tears In My Eyes” was one of the last songs that Jimmie Rodgers recorded on May 18, 1933, just a week before his death. It is the track on the album which Bono covers. And although credited solely to Bono on the back of the release, looking at the liner notes of the album one finds that Larry Mullen is also part of this song, on percussion. The song was recorded with Paul Barrett at STS Studios near Temple Bar in Dublin.

This promotional release was issued in late July 1997, and was released in a plain white cardboard sleeve. The sleeve had a sticker attached to the front and back of the sleeve, detailing the contents of the CD. The artwork on the promo CD is different than that of the commercial release, however the tracks contained within are identical to the commercial release of the album.

Liner Notes

Dreaming With Tears In My Eyes:
Produced by Paul Barrett and Bono. Mixed and recorded by Louise McCormick and Paul Barrett at STS, Dublin. Engineered by Louise McCormick. Bono: Vocals, electric guitar, electric bass. Paul Barrett: Piano, synthesizer, strings arrangement. Larry Mullen Jr: Drums, tambourine. Mircea Petcu, Elizabeth McNally: Violins. Tommy Kane: Viola. David James: Cello.

Related Promotional Videos

Related News

Catalog of Releases