"The Ultimate 80's Ballads" - Various Artists

Compilation Album

U2 Related Content:

Full Track Listing:

CD 1:

  • “Save Me” – Queen
  • “A Different Corner” – George Michael
  • “All I Want is You” – U2
  • “Absolute Beginners” – David Bowie
  • “Every Little Thing She Does is Magic” – The Police
  • “Sweet Surrender” – Wet Wet Wet
  • “Save A Prayer” – Duran Duran
  • “True” – Spandau Ballet
  • “The Power of Love” – Frankie Goes to Hollywood
  • “Eternal Flame” – The Bangles
  • “Here Comes the Rain Again” – Eurythmics
  • “I Go to Sleep” – Pretenders
  • “Don’t Dream It’s Over” – Crowded House
  • “Avalon” – Roxy Music
  • “Waiting for A Girl Like You” – Foreigner
  • “Hard Habit to Break” – Chicago
  • “She Makes My Day” – Robert Palmer
  • “Little Lies” – Fleetwood Mac
  • “Total Eclipse of the Heart” – Bonnie Tyler

CD 2:

  • “Romeo & Juliet” – Dire Straits
  • “Right Here Waiting” – Richard Marx
  • “Wherever I Lay My Hat” – Paul Young
  • “One Day In Your Life” – Michael Jackson
  • “Leaving Me Now” – Level 42
  • “Long Hot Summer” – Style Council
  • “Hands to Heaven” – Breathe
  • “Love Don’t Live Here Anymore” – Jimmy Nail
  • “It’s Different for Girls” – Joe Jackson
  • “Golden Brown” – The Stranglers
  • “Chance” – Big Country
  • “Kayleigh” – Marillion
  • “All of My Heart” – ABC
  • “No Regrets” – Midge Ure
  • “Human” – The Human League
  • “Souvenir” – Orchestral Manouevres in the Dark
  • “One of Us” – ABBA
  • “China in Your Hands” – T’Pau
  • “I Second that Emotion” – Japan
  • “Hold Me Now” – Thompson Twins
  • “Victims” – Culture Club

Background Information

This release on double CD and double cassette was put together by Polygram TV and sold via televised offers. On the disc was a collection of ballads from the 1980s described as being “songs from the heart of the decade”. It included each song listed above, which were listed with their top chart position in the UK charts. “All I Want is You” by U2 is included here on the compilation, and it is listed that it went to number 4 on the charts.

The version you want if you wish to own the U2 song is the UK version, which has approximately 20 songs on each disc. A similar compilation was issued by Polytel in Canada with the same name and a similar cover art, but this is a much shorter compilation, and does not include the U2 song. The UK version, which includes the U2 track, also includes Bono’s photo in the ‘0’ on the front cover.

“All I Want is You” on this release is a unique edit of the song. It is 4:10 total length, with 2.21s of silence between start and end of the track. The actual music is faded out 3.82s earlier than the single version

Liner Notes

Related Promotional Videos

Related News

Catalog of Releases