"Zero: A Martin Hannett Story 1977-1991" - Various Artists

Compilation Album

U2 Related Content:

Full Track Listing:

  • Boredom – Buzzcocks
  • Cranked Up Really High – Slaughter And The Dogs
  • Jilted John – Jilted John
  • I Don’t Want To Be Nice – John Cooper Clarke
  • Dream Sequence 1 – Pauline Murray And The Invisible Girls
  • 11 O’Clock Tick Tock – U2
  • Transmission – Joy Division
  • Conduct – The Durutti Column
  • Electricity – Orchestral Manoeuvres In The Dark
  • The Light Pours Out Of Me (Second Version) – Magazine
  • In A Lonely Place – New Order
  • Oh Lucinda (Love Becomes A Habit) – The Only Ones
  • Nightshift – The Names
  • The Last White Christmas – Basement Five
  • Pretty In Pink – Psychedelic Furs
  • Friendly Fires – Section 25
  • Rebecca’s Room – Wasted Youth
  • All Tomorrow’s Parties – Nico And The Invisible Girls
  • Quick As Rainbows – Kitchens Of Distinction
  • Wrote For Luck – Happy Mondays
  • She’s A Rainbow – World Of Twist

Background Information

Martin Hannett was a record producer, and an original partner in Factory Records. He is perhaps most closely associated with Joy Division, as well as several other acts based out of the city of Manchester in the early 1980s. Hannett passed away at the age of 42 in 1991 from heart failure. Several weeks after his passing, Factory records issued a compilation “Martin: The Work of Martin Hannett”. “And Here is the Young Man” was also a compilation of Martin Hannett’s production work, issued a few years later in April of 1998. This compilation, “Zero: A Martin Hannett Story” was a third compilation of the man’s work as a producer, after both initial compilations went out of print.

Hannett had worked with U2. He was brought in as a producer on the single “11 O’Clock Tick Tock” and the b-side “Touch”. The band first met with Hannett while he was working in the studio recording Joy Division’s “Love Will Tear Us Apart”. “11 O’Clock Tick Tock” was recorded with Hannett and released in May of 1980. Hannett was also considered a possible producer for U2’s first album, but due to the death of the lead singer of Joy Division that did not come to pass, and U2 would instead work with Steve Lillywhite.

The compilation “Zero: A Martin Hannett Story” features a slightly longer mix of “11 O’Clock Tick Tock” than had been featured on the original single. It is approximately 20 seconds longer than the single. A final mix, longer still, had been released on U2’s “Pride (In the Name of Love)” single. The remix included here is an edit which falls between the lengths released on the two U2 singles. The song has since been released on the remastered edition of “Boy” and “The Unforgettable Fire” but this remains a unique edit.

Liner Notes

11 O’Clock Tick Tock: Written by Clayton / Evans / Hewson / Mullen. Published by Blue Mountain Music Inc. Produced by Martin Hannett.

Related Promotional Videos

Related News

Catalog of Releases