"redux" - Wobble, Jah

Anthology Box Set

U2 Related Content:

Full Track Listing:

Disc One:

  • Visions of You (Radio Edit)
  • Visions of You (New Version)
  • Public Image
  • Merry Go Round
  • Tightrope
  • Becoming More Like God (Radio Edit)
  • Becoming More Like God (New Version)
  • Samsara
  • Poptones
  • Amor
  • Amor Dub
  • Lets Go Psycho
  • One Day
  • Careering
  • Yin and Yang
  • Desolation
  • Feel (Remix)
  • Buddha of Compassion

Disc Two:

  • How Much Are They?
  • Hold Onto Your Dreams
  • Blueberry Hill
  • Invaders of the Heart (Mix Two)
  • A Long, Long Way
  • Love Mystery
  • No Second Chances
  • Blow Out (Remix)
  • The Beast Inside
  • Despike
  • Fading
  • A13
  • Voodoo
  • Enough
  • Sea-Side Special
  • Island Paradise

Disc Three:

  • Soledad
  • Om Namah Shiva
  • L1
  • I’m An Algerian
  • Cherry Blossom of My Youth
  • Appalachian Mountain Dub
  • Reggae Parts the Sea
  • Mumbai Blues Dub
  • Bomba
  • Kang Ding Love Song
  • Alsema Dub
  • Angels
  • K Dub 05
  • Happy Tibetan Girl
  • New Mexico Dub
  • Erzulie
  • Heaven and Earth

Disc Four:

  • Slavetown (Part 1)
  • Slavetown (Part 2)
  • Car Ad Music 3
  • Country Cousin
  • Hit Me
  • Rush Hour
  • Virus B
  • Parental Kindness
  • One in 7
  • Rhonda
  • Loquacious Loretta
  • Car Ad Music 6
  • Market Rasen
  • Limehouse Cut
  • West End

Disc Five:

  • Fly 8
  • No Change is Sexy
  • Bagpipe Music
  • Highgate
  • I Love Everybody
  • Ruinlust
  • Post Modern
  • It All Fades Away
  • Ocean of Hills
  • Gardens of Suburbia
  • Requiem II
  • Software
  • Car Ad Music 2
  • Sacred
  • Gone in the Wind
  • Late 19th
  • Divine Mother

Disc Six:

  • Java
  • Theme from Midnight Cowboy
  • Theme from the Sweeney
  • Liquidator
  • Theme from Get Carter
  • Comin’ Home Baby
  • Theme from the Persuaders
  • Take Five
  • Theme from The Good, The Bad & The Ugly

Background Information

Jah Wobble first emerged with PiL in 1978, and through the years has had a long and varied career with PiL, the Invaders of the Heart, and an extensive solo career. This box set looks back on his entire career, and features six discs, each split by a theme. U2’s contribution is guitar by the Edge on one track from 1983, “Hold On to Your Dreams”, which is included on the second disc, “The Eighties.” This track had previously appeared on a 1983 single titled “Snake Charmer”.

For this 1983 solo project Wobble approached Holger Czukay of Can, and The Edge of U2 to work on the EP, as well as famous electronic producer Francois Kervorkian. The EP would be released on Island records as “Snake Charmer” and was released on vinyl and cassette. The EP featured five tracks, and The Edge participated in three of them. The Edge is credited as “Slide guitar and Soloist” on the both versions of “Snake Charmer” on each release, and he is listed as “Lead Guitar and Effects” on “Hold on to Your Dreams”. Wobble has spoken about the recording: “The producer here was top New York DJ/remixer Francois Kervorkian, and the album was “Snake Charmer”, which features The Edge (nice down to earth fella) from U2 and Holger. Check out the latter’s mental French horn solo. This was also the first time I came across the infamous Lin Drum, one of the first programmable drum machines, it is a feature of this track. This era, the early to mid eighties saw the rapid development of midi technology; this session was my introduction to the digital domain. It was quite an eye opener for me. I gave Francois a tough time on occasion, but he did ok. And I learned a lot.”

“Hold on to my Dreams” has been released on CD on the compilation “King Britt” but the version appearing there is recorded from a vinyl source. This is its first release on CD from the original master tapes. And the version released here is longer in length than the version that was released on the “Snake Charmer” cassette and 12-Inch.

This “box set” was also released as a digital release, however, that version is edited and a number of tracks do not appear. In the digital release only 63 of the 92 tracks from the actual physical release were made available. One of the tracks not available in the digital release is “Hold On To Your Dreams” and thus, you have to buy the physical release to get the song. The digital release does not include any U2 content.

Liner Notes

Related Promotional Videos

Related News

Catalog of Releases