Black Cat Update - Bono on new Zucchero song “Streets of Surrender”

Original Story by Aaron J. Sams (2016-03-29)

Some further information has started to arrive in regards to Zucchero’s “Black Cat” album. Bono is participating on the album, and has written the song “Streets of Surrender (S.O.S.)” for Zucchero. The album is due to be released April 29 on Universal Music it Italy, and May 2 in other countries in Europe. The album will be released on May 27, 2016 in North America.

It appears that Bono will participate on the song, and is expected to contribute vocals. [EDIT: Bono does not appear to be on vocals on the final released track.] Further to that, Mark Knopfler will be performing on “Streets of Surrender (S.O.S.)” on guitar. Knopfler is well known for his work with Dire Straits, as well as his own solo work. It is not known if Knopfler has worked with Bono in the past, but he did contribute to “Don’t Forget about Me” for Nanci Griffith, a song that Larry and Adam performed on.

A short six second clip of the song has appeared online, but we are not sure of the source. It can be heard at the following link:

This brief clip has someone, possibly Bono singing “You’re free baby baby, Free now and forever”.

The song “Streets of Surrender (S.O.S.)” was written by Bono in the days following the attacks in Paris in November 2015.

The full track listing is as follows:

  • Partigiano Reggiano
  • 13 Buone Ragioni
  • Ti Voglio Sposare
  • Streets of Surrender (S.O.S.)
  • Ten More Days
  • L’anno Dell’amore
  • Hey Lord
  • Fatti di Sogni
  • La Tortura Della Luna
  • Turn the World Down
  • Terra Incognita
  • Voci
  • CI Si Arrende

The first single from the album is “Partigiano Reggiano” in Italy, while “Voci” will be the first single for the international market. Production of the album is being shared by T Bone Burnett, Brendan O’Brien, and Don Was. At this time it is not confirmed who the producer for “Streets of Surrender (S.O.S.)” is.

Our earlier news stories about this release are available here:

Our discography entry will be ready soon.

The cover of the new album is located below:

< Next News Entry | Previous News Entry > was formerly known as Follow us on Twitter | Facebook