Deezer Launches New U2 Playlist

Original Story by Aaron J. Sams (2017-06-12)

Deezer, a music streaming service, has launched a new playlist titled, “The Joshua Tree & Influences”. The playlist contains all of the tracks from U2’s The Joshua Tree, mixed with songs that they say are “some of the ones that inspired the band whilst they were writing the album”. The playlist is created by “Deezer Artist Editor” who has been previously responsible for playlists of artists and bands, such as Essential collections from various artists including U2. The playlist was likely done in conjunction with someone from U2’s team with Deezer tweeting “@u2’s new playlist for #Deezer is here and it is packed with songs that inspired the band to create #TheJosuaTree.” (Yes the spelling is as it was in the tweet.)

The full Deezer playlist can be found here at

A unique image is used for the playlist containing a photo from the 1980s, and the playlist title:

The full list of tracks in the playlist is as follows:

  • “Atmosphere” (04:10) – Joy Division (The Best Of)
  • “Where the Streets Have No Name” (05:37) – U2 (The Joshua Tree)
  • “America is Waiting” (03:37) – Brian Eno (My Life in the Bush of Ghosts)
  • “I Still Haven’t Found What I’m Looking For” (04:37) – U2 (The Joshua Tree)
  • “The River” (05:01) – Bruce Springsteen (The River)
  • “With or Without You” (04:55) – U2 (The Joshua Tree)
  • “New Gold Dream (81/82/83/84)” (05:38) – Simple Minds (New Gold Dream (81/82/83/84))
  • “Treason” (02:56) – The Teardrop Explodes (Kilimanjaro)
  • “Running to Stand Still” (04:17) – U2 (The Joshua Tree)
  • “The Magnificent Seven (Remastered)” (05:33) – The Clash (Sandinista!)
  • “In God’s Country” (02:56) – U2 (The Joshua Tree)
  • “Tupelo Honey” (06:55) – Van Morrison (The Essential Van Morrison)
  • “Trip Through Your Wires” (03:31) – U2 (The Joshua Tree)
  • “Remember (2010 Remaster)” (04:35) – John Lennon (Gimme Some Truth)
  • “One Tree Hill” (05:22) – U2 (The Joshua Tree)
  • “Slow Train” (05:58) – Bob Dylan (Slow Train Coming)
  • “An American Trilogy (New Sound Remastered)” (04:17) – Elvis Presley (Essential Elvis Presley)
  • “Exit” (04:13) – U2 (The Joshua Tree)
  • “Blanket Roll Blues (2006 Remaster) – Scott Walker (Climate of Hunter)
  • “Mothers of the Disappeared (05:14) – U2 (The Joshua Tree)
  • “Villiers Terrace” (02:44) – Echo and the Bunnymen (Original Album Series)

< Next News Entry | Previous News Entry > was formerly known as Follow us on Twitter | Facebook