Larry Mullen to Appear on New Alice Cooper Album

Original Story by Aaron J. Sams (2020-11-16)

Alice Cooper is releasing a new album in 2021, and once again Larry Mullen is involved. The album Detroit Stories will be released on February 26, 2021. The first single, a cover of Lou Reed’s “Rock ‘N’ Roll” came out on Friday, but is NOT a song that features Larry Mullen.

The album will be released on earMusic, and sees Alice Cooper going back to visit the Detroit sound that helped launch him to stardom. He also will team with several musicians from that scene for songs on the album. The song(s) with Larry Mullen have not been revealed and the press release only mentions “Other appearances include U2’s Larry Mullen, Grand Funk Railroad’s Mark Farner, Outrageous Cherry’s Matthew Smith, a surprise guest turn by Sister Sledge, plus current Alice Cooper band member Tommy Henriksen.”

Larry Mullen was a special guest on Alice Cooper’s last album, appearing on nine tracks on Paranormal. That album was released in July 2017. At the time it was said that Larry played on ten tracks, making us think that the track on Detroit Stories may be a left over from those earlier sessions.

During the promotion for that 2017 album, Alice Cooper took a question from U2Songs, “What were the highlights of working with a drummer like Larry Mullen? Did he help develop the songs or was it more a “here play this” type arrangement? How many days did you work with Mullen?”

Alice Cooper responded, “I never had a drummer ever ask me to see the lyrics before. It’s just something drummers don’t do. He says – I interpret the lyrics, I don’t just work on the bottom of the song. I thought that was a great idea. A lot of the time he doesn’t do what a normal drummer would do. He doesn’t do snare, hi-hat, but he goes snare, tom tom and instead of this “chk” it had a “boom” and turned the song into something else. Working with a drummer who was artistically involved in the lyrics of the song was really cool, and it gave the album a whole different flavour. The fact he worked on this album, all the way through it, totally changed the face of it. It was really fun working with him. He had fun listening, because the songs go all over the place, and he somehow glued it all together.”

The full track listing of the new album Detroit Stories is as follows:

Track list:
1. Rock ‘n’ Roll
2. Go Man Go (Album Version)
3. Our Love Will Change The World
4. Social Debris
5. $1000 High Heel Shoes
6. Hail Mary
7. Detroit City 2021 (Album Version)
8. Drunk And In Love
9. Independence Dave
10. I Hate You
11. Wonderful World
12. Sister Anne (Album Version)
13. Hanging On By A Thread (Don’t Give Up)
14. Shut Up And Rock
15. East Side Story (Album Version)

The album will be released on CD, CD plus DVD digipack, CD Box set, and 2LP. The boxed set will include a Blu-ray disc, T-shirt, face mask, torch light and stickers. The 2LP set will be available on red vinyl through independent record stores, and will also be made available in clear, purple and black vinyl. The performance “A Paranormal Evening at the Olympia Paris” which features on the DVD and Blu-ray, does not include Larry Mullen. We will set up a discography entry when more information about what song(s) Larry is involved in is revealed. The album can be pre-ordered here.

Related Past Discography Entries

< Next News Entry | Previous News Entry > was formerly known as Follow us on Twitter | Facebook