Little Steven Reissues on CD

Original Story by Aaron J. Sams (2020-06-23)

Little Steven’s back catalog is currently undergoing a reissue program. Two albums, both with U2 participation, are being issued on CD for the first time in many years.

The set of remastered titles on CD includes the Sun City album, which included Bono on the title track, “Sun City”, as well as various mixes of the title song song. The album also contains Bono’s original solo version of “Silver and Gold.” Adam Clayton worked with Little Steven on his 1999 album, Born Again Savage which is the other album containing U2 to be reissued. Adam is present on all of the tracks on the CD, and worked with Little Steven and his band in studio developing the songs.

Born Again Savage was reissued on CD on June 12, 2020. The catalog number for this release is 00602508881053, and the CD contains the remastered album, with no bonus tracks. The release is in a digipack, where the original was issued in a jewel case. The CD is out on Universal Music and Wicked Cool Records.

Sun City will be reissued on CD on July 17, 2020 (July 24 in the USA). Again, the CD contains just the remastered album, with no bonus tracks. Indeed, it appears that they have not included “The Last Remix” of “Sun City” which appeared on original CD releases of the album in 2007.

Remastering for both of these albums was directed by Bob Ludwig.

This is the fourth release of this material in recent months, although this is the first issue on CD. Initially a box set of coloured vinyl was announced and sold, containing six of Little Steven’s albums on vinyl, plus four CDs of bonus materials. The box set was released on December 6, 2019. Then there were digital releases of each album, and each came complete with bonus tracks. Born Again Savage was released on November 22, 2019, and Sun City was released on December 6, 2019. These included high resolution audio releases of this material. The albums were then both issued outside of the box set on vinyl, with both Sun City and Born Again Savage being sold on standalone vinyl including black and coloured variations starting on March 13, 2020.

The full track listings of the album are:

Sun City – Artists Against Apartheid:

  • Sun City – Artists United Against Apartheid*
  • No More Apartheid – Peter Gabriel & L. Shankar
  • Revolutionary Situation – Keith LeBlanc
  • Sun City (Version II) – Artists United Against Apartheid*
  • Let Me See Your I.D. – Gil Scott-Heron, Melle Mel & Duke Bootee
  • The Struggle Continues – Miles Davis, Ron Carter, Stanley Jordan, Tony Williams & Herbie Hancock
  • Silver and Gold – Bono, Keith Richards & Ron Wood*

Born Again Savage – Little Steven

  • Born Again Savage*
  • Camouflage Of Righteousness*
  • Guns, Drugs, and Gasoline*
  • Face Of God*
  • Saint Francis*
  • Salvation*
  • Organize*
  • Flesheater*
  • Lust For Enlightenment*
  • Tongues Of Angels*
  • denotes U2 involvement, either Bono on Sun City or Adam Clayton on Born Again Savage.

< Next News Entry | Previous News Entry > was formerly known as Follow us on Twitter | Facebook