New 1978 Playlist from Bono

Original Story (2022-05-12)

Bono has shared a new playlist of songs focused on the year 1978. The list titled “Fifteen 45’s from 1978” was published via YouTube on May 13, 2022. The playlist can be heard here. The songs on the list are as follows:

  • “Out of Control” – U2
  • “Glad to See You Go” – Ramones
  • “Hong Kong Garden” – Siouxsie and the Banshees
  • “Heart of Glass” – Blondie
  • “David Watts” – The Jam
  • “Roxanne” – The Police
  • “Because the Night” – Patti Smith Group
  • “Tommy Gun” – The Clash
  • “Pump It Up” – Elvis Costello
  • “Alternative Ulster” – Stiff Little Fingers
  • “What Do I Get?” – Buzzcocks
  • “Neon Lights” – Kraftwerk
  • “Talking Heads” – Psycho Killer
  • “The Day the World Turned Dayglo” – X-Ray Spex
  • “Rat Trap” – The Boomtown Rats

The list includes “Out of Control” which was first released in 1979 as part of the EP “Three” but was written on Bono’s 18th birthday, May 10, 1978.

The playlist also includes the video being used to promote Bono’s autobiography, Surrender: 40 Songs, One Story. The video is an excerpt from the chapter titled “Out of Control” in the book. (Each chapter in the new book, due November 1, will be named after a U2 song.)

Tonight on U2 X-Radio, Gavin Friday will be sharing a new episode of “Gavin Friday Presents” with a second episode which focuses on 1979.

For those interested in more playlists put together by the band over the years, we keep a news archive of these which can be found here. You may also be interested in Adam Clayton’s monthly playlists for U2 X-Radio.

< Next News Entry | Previous News Entry > was formerly known as Follow us on Twitter | Facebook