Nine Inch Nails Launches “Strobe Light” (Seed9)

Original Story by Aaron J. Sams (2019-04-01)

Please note: It is April 1, 2019, and this could be an elaborate April Fool’s Day Joke.

Back on April 1, 2009, Trent Reznor announced a new Nine Inch Nails, Strobe Light, which was due to released with various artists joining Nine Inch Nails. The album was an April Fool’s Day joke, and was never released. The track listing included the following:

  • “Intro Skit”
  • “Everybody’s Doing It” (featuring Chris Martin, Jay-Z AND Bono)
  • “Black T-Shirt”
  • “Pussygrinder” (featuring Sheryl Crow)
  • “Coffin On The Dancefloor”
  • “This Rhythm Is Infected”
  • “Slide To The Dark Side”
  • “Even Closer” (featuring Justin Timberlake and Maynard James Keenan)
  • “On The List (she’s not)”
  • “Clap Trap Crack Slap”
  • “Laid, Paid And Played” (featuring Fergie of the Black Eyed Peas and Al Jourgensen)
  • “Feel Like Being Dead Again”
  • “Still Hurts” (featuring Alicia Keys)
  • “Outro Skit”

Yes, the second track was said to include Chris Martin, Jay-Z, and Bono.

So imagine the surprise this morning when fans of Nine Inch Nails woke up to find that there is an actual Strobe Light album. Appearing on – the album is there will the full tracks as originally listed in 2009. Including “Everybody’s Doing It” featuring Bono, Chris Martin and Jay-Z. This particular track is 05:05 in length, and features samples of “Beautiful Day” by U2 mashed up with tracks from the other artists mentioned and Nine Inch Nails. It’s definitely Bono on the track. The cover art? The same art had been used for the 2009 album announcement.

At this point it is unknown who is responsible for these tracks, but it is possible that Trent Reznor of Nine Inch Nails may be involved. Trent did remix U2 at one point, back in 2004, providing a remix of U2’s “Vertigo”.

The tracks are hosted on Bandcamp, and are available in mp3 format and uncompressed quality downloads (at other external sites.) The catalog number “Seed 9” follows in a series of catalog numbers used in the past by Nine Inch Nails, for a variety of downloads and torrents that have been released in the past. The last in that series is Seed 8, a Remix EP that was streamed on Beats Music.

We’ll wait till we have additional information about the source of this before adding it to the discography, either as a release, or as a fun oddity and part of a 10 year long April Fool’s Day Prank. If you are interested in the track, I’d grab it today, as if it is a prank it may not be around for much longer.

The original 2009 album announcement read as follows:

To download NIN’s new full-length album Strobe Light, PRODUCED BY TIMBALAND, enter a valid email address in the fields below. A download link will be sent to you immediately. Your credit card will be charged $18.98 plus a $10 digital delivery convenience fee. Your files will arrive as windows media files playable on quite a few players with your name embedded all over them just in case you lose them. You will also receive an exclusive photo and a free email account with our partner Google’s Gmail service. Your email will be kept confidential and will not be used for spam, unless we can make some money selling it.”

Thanks to Mark for flagging this one for us!

< Next News Entry | Previous News Entry > was formerly known as Follow us on Twitter | Facebook