Songs of Surrender Track List Shared on Spotify?

Original Story by Aaron J. Sams / Dan Basquill (2023-01-10)

Updated January 10, 2023: The Songs of Surrender album has now been announced. More information on the album is now available in the discography entry for Songs of Surrender.

After yesterday’s appearance of 40 letters sent to fans throughout the world, with The Edge speaking about a new direction for old songs, there were other things that point toward Songs of Surrender being announced soon.

On Spotify, the band has the ability to embed videos into the songs that are played. And yesterday the Morse code that at the top of those letters is now appearing on various songs. It flashes as the song plays. In each case the Morse code says Songs of Surrender which is the name of the new album.

We’ve taken a closer look at things, and most of the songs used for chapter titles in Bono’s book have this effect added, but not all. And a number of songs that aren’t chapter titles in Bono’s book do have these Morse code effects added.

The songs which have the Morse Code effect, which do not appear as chapter titles in Bono’s book?

  • “40”
  • “Red Hill Mining Town”
  • “All I Want is You”
  • “Stay (Faraway, So Close)”
  • “Dirty Day”
  • “If God Will Send His Angels”
  • “Walk On”
  • “Peace on Earth”
  • “Electrical Storm”
  • “Sometimes You Can’t Make it On Your Own”
  • “The Miracle (Of Joey Ramone)”
  • “The Little Things that Give You Away”

This means a number of songs which are chapter titles did not get the Morse code update last night. These songs listed in the book, but without the Morse codes are:

  • “October”
  • “Bullet the Blue Sky”
  • “Even Better Than the Real Thing”
  • “Mysterious Ways”
  • “Wake Up Dead Man”
  • “Crumbs from Your Table”
  • “Moment of Surrender”
  • “Breathe”
  • “Iris (Hold Me Close)”
  • “The Showman (Much More Better)”
  • “Love is Bigger Than Anything in its Way”
  • “Landlady”

What does it all mean? Well it suggests the new Songs of Surrender album is straying from the book in some ways. There are twelve songs used as chapter titles, which are not getting this Morse code updates. And there are twelve songs with the Morse code updates, which aren’t used in the book. Some of these do exist as new recordings, and we’ve heard “40” at the end of the audiobook, and “Sometimes You Can’t Make it on Your Own” appears as well. (It could always be an error as well, and the wrong songs could have been picked. But exactly 40 songs have been updated.)

It suggests that the final track listing of the “Songs of Surrender” album has five songs from All That You Can’t Leave Behind, four songs from The Joshua Tree, Achtung Baby and Songs of Experience, three songs from Boy, War, How to Dismantle an Atomic Bomb, and Songs of Innocence, two songs from The Unforgettable Fire, Rattle and Hum and Zooropa. No songs are represented from October, No Line on the Horizon or the Passengers album. Additionally there are four tracks which weren’t on main albums including “11 O’Clock Tick Tock”, “Electrical Storm”, “Invisible”, and “Ordinary Love”.

The would suggest the final track listing for Songs of Surrender is as follows:

  • “Out of Control” – U2 (From Boy)
  • “Stories for Boys” – U2 (From Boy)
  • “I Will Follow” – U2 (From Boy)
  • “11 O’Clock Tick Tock” – U2 (Non-Album Single)
  • “Two Hearts Beat as One” – U2 (From War)
  • “Sunday Bloody Sunday” – U2 (From War)
  • “40” – U2 (From War)
  • “Bad” – U2 (From The Unforgettable Fire)
  • “Pride (In the Name of Love)” – U2 (From The Unforgettable Fire)
  • “Where the Streets Have No Name” – U2 (From The Joshua Tree)
  • “I Still Haven’t Found What I’m Looking For” – U2 (From The Joshua Tree)
  • “With or Without You” – U2 (From The Joshua Tree)
  • “Red Hill Mining Town” – U2 (From The Joshua Tree)
  • “Desire” – U2 (From Rattle and Hum)
  • “All I Want is You” – U2 (From Rattle and Hum)
  • “One” – U2 (From Achtung Baby)
  • “Until the End of the World” – U2 (From Achtung Baby)
  • “The Fly” – U2 (From Achtung Baby)
  • “Who’s Gonna Ride Your Wild Horses” – U2 (From Achtung Baby)
  • “Stay (Faraway, So Close!)” – U2 (From Zooropa)
  • “Dirty Day” – U2 (From Zooropa)
  • “If God Will Send His Angels” – U2 (From Pop)
  • “Beautiful Day” – U2 (From All That You Can’t Leave Behind)
  • “Walk On” – U2 (From All That You Can’t Leave Behind)
  • “Peace on Earth” – U2 (From All That You Can’t Leave Behind)
  • “Electrical Storm” – U2 (Non-Album Single)
  • “Stuck in a Moment You Can’t Get Out Of” – U2 (From All That You Can’t Leave Behind)
  • “Vertigo” – U2 (From How to Dismantle an Atomic Bomb)
  • “Sometimes You Can’t Make it On Your Own” – U2 (From How to Dismantle an Atomic Bomb)
  • “City of Blinding Lights” – U2 (From How to Dismantle an Atomic Bomb)
  • “Miracle Drug” – U2 (From How to Dismantle an Atomic Bomb)
  • “Invisible” – U2 (Non-Album Single)
  • “Ordinary Love” – U2 (Non-Album Single)
  • “The Miracle (Of Joey Ramone)” – U2 (From Songs of Innocence)
  • “Song for Someone” – U2 (From Songs of Innocence)
  • “Every Breaking Wave” – U2 (From Songs of Innocence)
  • “Cedarwood Road” – U2 (From Songs of Innocence)
  • “The Little Things that Give You Away” – U2 (From Songs of Experience)
  • “Lights of Home” – U2 (From Songs of Experience)
  • “Get Out of Your Own Way” – U2 (From Songs of Experience)

The album should be announced this week, and we expect this fun little Spotify update is only a sign of things to come as the band continues to promote the new album over the month to come. We have been told to expect the new album to be released on March 17, 2023. More information about the new album can be found in our discography entry which we have updated with this new list of tracks.

Many thanks to Dan who pushed me to look closer at the Spotify stuff this morning, and helped with sorting it all out.

< Next News Entry | Previous News Entry > was formerly known as Follow us on Twitter | Facebook