U2 to Feature on Kendrick Lamar Album, “Damn.”

Original Story by Aaron J. Sams (2017-04-11)

Kendrick Lamar has confirmed the rumours we’ve seen the past few days, U2 will feature on his new album, Damn. which is being released this Friday. The album is being distributed on Aftermath / Interscope Records, and will be released with the catalog number B0026716-02.

The track will be produced by Atlanta based producer, Mike Will Made-It. Made-It was recently responsible for Beyonce’s “Formation”. Will shared the Grammy nomination for Record of the Year, Song of the Year and Album of the Year for his work with Beyonce.

Lamar tweeted an image of the front and back covers of the release, revealing U2’s participation:

The full track listing as found on the back cover is:

  • Blood
  • DNA
  • Yah
  • Element
  • Feel
  • Loyalty (Featuring Rihanna)
  • Pride
  • Humble
  • Lust
  • Love
  • XXX (Featuring U2)
  • Fear
  • God
  • Duckworth

U2 and Rihanna are the only two listed featured guests on the album.

The news of U2’s involvement first leaked through the preorder on iTunes, as astute users were able to see the track credits on songs that they had pre-ordered. The writing credits for the album included a song which identified the writing credits on the 11th, unnamed track as “K. Duckworth, M. Williams II, D. Natche, M. Spears, Anthony Tiffith, P. Hewson, D. Evans, A. Clayton & L. Mullen (U2)”

The song with U2 is titled “XXX” and iTunes in North America is currently showing that there will be two versions of the album, one with ‘clean’ tracks and one with ‘explicit’ tracks. “XXX” is one of the tracks that is marked to be explicit on the explicit version of the album, and does have a clean version. The exact differences between these tracks is not known, and this could be the same track, just one version for each edition in the store. We will confirm any differences upon release. The track is listed at 4:14 in length on both versions of the album currently appearing.

Kendrick Lamar is the name under which Kendrick Lamar Duckworth performs. Lamar was born in Compton, California, and rapped under the name of K-Dot and released a series of mix tapes, eventually coming to the attention of producer Dr. Dre. His first album was released in 2010. Lamar has worked with a number of popular artists in the past including Lady Gaga, Drake, Robin Thicke, Alicia Keys, Imagine Dragons, Beyonce, Maroon 5, Taylor Swift, Dido and Rihanna.

Damn. will be the fourth studio album by Lamar. The previous album, To Pimp a Butterfly, won the Grammy for Best Rap Album at the 58th Grammy Awards. It was also nominated, but did not win, Album of the Year. Songs from that album won Grammys for Best Rap Song and Best Rap Performance, and “Alright” was nominated, but did not win Song of the Year. The lead single from Damn. is titled “Humble.” and debuted at number two on the US Billboard Hot 100.

< Next News Entry | Previous News Entry >

u2songs.com was formerly known as u2wanderer.org. Follow us on Twitter | Facebook