#U2ieTour Pre-Show Mix.

Original story (u2wanderer.org) by Aaron J. Sams (2015-08-01)

Over the last six shows in New York, U2 has been using a very different mix on the PA prior to the start of the show. Before that time they were using a mix almost exclusively of songs from the late 70s. With New York they started mixing in newer songs, while retaining some of the material from the earlier era. After six shows, we’ve been able to put together a pretty good list of what has been played. The following is what we’ve put together:

  • First Week / Last Week, Carefree – The Talking Heads
  • Where is My Mind? – The Pixies
  • You Know You’re Right – Nirvana
  • Life During Wartime – The Talking Heads
  • The National Anthem – Radiohead
  • Reptilia – The Strokes
  • 1979 – Smashing Pumpkins
  • Debaser – The Pixies
  • Aneurysm – Nirvana
  • Baby Turns Blue – Virgin Prunes
  • Fake Plastic Trees – Radiohead
  • Last Nite – The Strokes
  • Love Will Tear Us Apart – Joy Division
  • Who is It? – The Talking Heads
  • Bullet with Butterfly Wings – Smashing Pumpkins
  • You Only Live Once – The Strokes
  • About a Girl – Nirvana
  • Been Caught Stealing – Jane’s Addiction
  • Even Flow – Pearl Jam

Also in the mix for these shows were some songs before the mix started. For most nights they used the album The Man Machine by Kraftwerk (including songs “The Robots,” “The Model,” “Neon Lights,” and “The Man Machine”) and the album The Idiot by Iggy Pop (including songs “China Girl,” “Sister Midnight,” and “Baby”.)

For those who want to take a listen, check out this YouTube playlist. The Kraftwerk and Iggy Pop songs come in at the end if you care to listen past “Even Flow”.

And thanks to cqleonardo on twitter we also have a Spotify playlist for your listening pleasure.

< Next News Entry | Previous News Entry >

u2songs.com was formerly known as u2wanderer.org. Follow us on Twitter | Facebook