Friars Club, Aylesbury, England

Set List of Show:

Known Set List:

  • "11 O'Clock Tick Tock"
  • "I Will Follow"
  • "Touch"
  • "An Cat Dubh"
  • "Into the Heart"
  • "A Day Without Me"
  • "Twilight"
  • "The Electric Co."
  • "Things to Make and Do"
  • "Out of Control"

Additional Music

Snippets of Other Songs Performed by U2:

Show Details:

U2 were advertised to be performing in Birmingham on this night at a club called Bogarts. But it appears that that night did not happen, as they were later advertised to be opening a show for Rory Gallagher instead on that same date, at the Friar’s Club in Aylesbury. The show in Aylesbury started at 7:30pm, and Birmingham is nearly two hours away by car, so it is very unlikely that the show in Birmingham happened, and as is often the case, was canceled after the initial advertising appeared in press.

The concert by Rory Gallagher was £3.25 for admission, and tickets were sold at Earth Records, Hi-Vu, Old Town Records and at the door. Additionally one had to buy a membership to the Friar’s Club to attend, which was an additional £0.25 if you did not already possess one. The concert was held in the Maxwell Hall. Initial advertisements for the show listed an opening act called “Rage” but advertisements closer to the show listed U2 instead. Neither Rage, nor U2 are listed on the ticket stubs for this event. U2 were apparently paid £25 in total for performing at this show on short notice.

The set list reported for this show may be incomplete.

Related News

Officially Released Tracks