Kent University, Canterbury, England

Set List of Show:

Set List:

  • "Stories for Boys"
  • "The Ocean"
  • "11 O'Clock Tick Tock"
  • "Touch"
  • "An Cat Dubh"
  • "Into the Heart"
  • "Another Time, Another Place"
  • "The Electric Co."
  • "Things to Make and Do"
  • "Twilight"
  • "I Will Follow"
  • "Father is an Elephant"

Additional Music

Snippets of Other Songs Performed by U2:

    "Cry" (U2) / "Send in the Clowns" (Stephen Sondheim from A Little Night Music) /

Show Details:

U2 play a show in Canterbury England at Kent University. The performance takes place in the Rutherford Junior Common Room. It is U2’s only performance in Canterbury to date. 150 tickets are made available and all sell out. Tickets are sold at the low price of £0.50, one of the lowest we’ve seen for this era. The show started at 8pm.

During the show Bono includes snippets of U2’s “Cry” at the start of “The Electric Co.” and “Send in the Clowns” during the song. U2 also perform a new song at this show, “Father is an Elephant,” a song they were developing at that time. In early 1981, Bono is interviewed by NYRocker Magazine and tells the magazine that the song “Father is an Elephant” is a song he has been writing about his father Bob, that has been around for a while, the title is also listed in his briefcase that goes missing in March 1981. Some elements of that song went on to form the backbone of “Rejoice” on the album October.

A recording of the show exists as a bootleg.

Related News

Officially Released Tracks