Underground, Stockholm, Sweden

Set List of Show:

Known Set List: (Likely Incomplete)

  • "The Ocean"
  • "11 O'Clock Tick Tock"
  • "Touch"
  • "An Cat Dubh"
  • "Into the Heart"
  • "Another Time, Another Place"
  • "The Electric Co."
  • "Things to Make and Do"
  • "Stories for Boys"
  • "I Will Follow"

Additional Music

Snippets of Other Songs Performed by U2:

    "Cry" (U2) /

Show Details:

U2 play their first full show in Sweden at a venue called the Underground, an cellar club on Sergel’s torg. Modesty Blaise and Chatterbox open the show, although only Chatterbox are listed on the ticket. Earlier in the day U2 performed for Swedish television, and then left for this show.

Photographer Bernt Styrmer was present at the show, taking photos of the band, and had the following to say, “That was the first time I saw them. I had bought their LP but didn’t know much about them. U2 was quite unknown on the rock scene in Stockholm at the time. There was a stir in the crowd in the old bowling alley next to Plattan. But the Dublin rockers gave it their all. I thought they were magical. Although I had the chance to see them after that gig, I didn’t, I wanted to keep the intimate feeling”.

In 2001 when U2 played Stockholm, Bono remembered back to that first appearance, “‘Ring those bells Edge, let those bells ring. Twenty years ago we came walking down these streets, 20 years ago, same melody, same beats… down in the Underground, a club called the Underground, right here in Stockholm.”

Reports claim that there were perhaps 100-150 people at the venue. The band played well from eyewitness reports, but Bono had a challenge to get people into the show. The full set list is unknown, but some songs are known to have been played including “I Will Follow” to end the show. The songs that are known are pieced together from photographs of the band on stage and visible set lists in those photographs.

Related News

Officially Released Tracks