Bayou, Washington, DC, USA

Set List of Show:

Set List:

  • "The Ocean"
  • "11 O'Clock Tick Tock"
  • "Touch"
  • "An Cat Dubh"
  • "Into the Heart"
  • "Another Time, Another Place"
  • "The Electric Co."
  • "Things to Make and Do"
  • "Stories for Boys"
  • "Twilight"
  • "I Will Follow"

  • "Out of Control"

Additional Music

Snippets of Other Songs Performed by U2:


Second of two shows in Washington DC on this day, opening a new North American leg of the Boy tour.

Show Details:

U2 play two shows at the Bayou in Washington DC. Returning a favour from late 1980, U2 invites local band the Slickee Boys to open for them at both shows. (U2 had opened for the Slickee Boys the previous Fall.) Both shows are continuous without a break, and both have the same set list. The earlier show of the two has been widely circulated as a bootleg over the years.

Both shows draw about 250 people. This second show starts about an hour after the first one has ended.

A review in the Washington Post by Harry Sumrall states: “Forget the other groups. Remember U2. The Dublin-based group appeared last night at the Bayou and this city’s perception of New Wave may never be the same. Tearing away at the crowd with searing guitar solos and jittery, electronically echoed vocals, U2 also brought to their performance a sense of refinement that has been lacking in rock for some time…” (It is not clear which of the two shows he saw)

In the earlier show, Bono stops to introduce the band, “When we first came here, I think there was only about 27 people, but they were good. We said we were not just another English band passing through, we were going to come back, we’re here for three months now, and I hope to see you maybe.” “Cry” and “Send in the Clowns” are included with “The Electric Co.” at this first show.

Related News

Officially Released Tracks