Cain's Ballroom, Tulsa, OK, USA

Set List of Show:

Main Set:

  • "The Ocean"
  • "11 O'Clock Tick Tock"
  • "I Will Follow"
  • "An Cat Dubh"
  • "Into the Heart"
  • "Another Time, Another Place"
  • "The Electric Co."
  • "Things to Make and Do"
  • "Stories for Boys"
  • "Boy / Girl"
  • "Out of Control"

  • "A Day Without Me"
  • "11 O'Clock Tick Tock"
  • "The Ocean"
  • "I Will Follow"

Additional Music

Snippets of Other Songs Performed by U2:

    "Cry" (U2) /

Show Details:

U2 play a show at Cain’s Ballroom in Tulsa, Oklahoma. Doors open at 9pm, and two opening acts are featured, The Flying Dots and The Knows. Admission for the show is $4.00. Little is known about the show, but it is known that U2 played “I Will Follow” twice. The band were still being listed as U-2 in advertisements for the shows at this point. U2 perform under portraits of famous country music performers such as Hank Williams Sr.

The band arrived by cab in the early afternoon, and found the club locked and had to bang on the front door to get in.

Brian Welker, one of the Flying Dots remembered not getting a chance to soundcheck before this show as U2 needed the practice time. Welker estimates about 200 people were present at Cain’s for this show by U2. Tim Barraza whose brother performed in local band The Know also shared memories of the show, “We were standing on stage right checking the show when U2 opened with “The Ocean”. The next thing, Bono drops to his knees in front of a girl on the front row, leans over singing to her face to face, then he slowly reaches down and takes her cigarette from her and takes a gentle puff.”

In 2018, opening their tour in Tulsa, Bono remembered the night at Cain’s saying, “Thanks for your patience, it’s been a while since Cain’s Ballroom, that’s for sure.”

The set list listed is from the recollections of one of the fans at the show that evening. Its accuracy has not been verified by a recording or a written set list. But it does match other recollections of the show.

Related News

Officially Released Tracks