Ol' Man River's, New Orleans, LA, USA

Set List of Show:

Main Set:

  • "The Ocean"
  • "11 O'Clock Tick Tock"
  • "I Will Follow"
  • "I Fall Down"
  • "An Cat Dubh"
  • "Into the Heart"
  • "Another Time, Another Place"
  • "The Electric Co."
  • "Things to Make and Do"
  • "Stories for Boys"
  • "Boy / Girl"
  • "Out of Control"
  • "A Day Without Me"

  • "11 O'Clock Tick Tock"
  • "I Will Follow"

Additional Music

Snippets of Other Songs Performed by U2:

    "Frère Jacques" (Jean-Philippe Rameau) / "Cry" (U2) / "Send in the Clowns" (Stephen Sondheim from A Little Night Music) /

Show Details:

U2 play a show in New Orleans at a club called Ol’ Man River’s. The club is a small space across the river from New Orleans.

U2 include a number of snippets in songs this evening, including the “Frere Jacques” reference in “11 O’Clock Tick Tock” and “Cry” and “Send in the Clowns” in “The Electric Co.”

At this point the new song is still called “When I Fall Down” and it is played after a longer break following “I Will Follow” to sort the song out. The song is becoming more polished with each play. Introducing “Another Time, Another Day” Bono tells the crowd about the band’s trip sight seeing in the historic French Quarter. “We went down the street called Bourbon Street. I met an old man and he took his teeth out. You’ve got some very strange traditions around here.” The band have some issues with the crowd tonight as well. A youth in front of Bono is spitting and Bono stops to address it. He stops the band from playing, and asks Joe O’Herlihy to turn up the lights. Bono tells the audience that the guy is a punk because he read about it, he wears a suit because he read about it and he spits because he read about it. The band eventually starts to play again as Bono announces “Shut up or get out.”

Bootleg recordings of this show have circulated.

Related News

Officially Released Tracks