Toad's Place, New Haven, CT, USA

Set List of Show:

Main Set:

  • "The Ocean"
  • "11 O'Clock Tick Tock"
  • "I Will Follow"
  • "I Fall Down"
  • "An Cat Dubh"
  • "Into the Heart"
  • "Another Time, Another Place"
  • "The Electric Co."
  • "Things to Make and Do"
  • "Stories for Boys"
  • "Boy / Girl"
  • "Out of Control"

  • "Twilight"
  • "I Will Follow"
  • "A Day Without Me"
  • "Fire"

Additional Music

Snippets of Other Songs Performed by U2:

Show Details:

U2 perform a show at Toad’s Place in New Haven, CT. The venue holds 600 people, and tonight the band manages a sell out. This is U2’s second time playing the venue, having played here on their first North American tour in 1980. But it is their first time as the headlining act at the bar. They will play the venue once again in November 1981. The show is the first time that U2 have played their new single “Fire” which will appear on October in the fall.

In the afternoon ahead of the show Adam Clayton does an interview with local music fanzine “Over-View.” While Adam was doing that interview, Bono, The Edge and Larry were appearing on WBCN-FM Radio, interviewed by Ken Shelton. Bono tells Shelton that he “can’t even remember what home looks like.”

During “11 O’Clock Tick Tock” Bono includes his usual references to “Frere Jacques.” Introducing “I Fall Down” Bono says “It wasn’t so many people when we played in December. I think there was about 10 people when we played here in December. Actually we didn’t tell anyone we were coming, it was our own fault. It’s good to see everybody here, this is called ‘When I Fall Down.’” Snippets of “Cry” and “Send in the Clowns” are added to “The Electric Co.” Introducing “Stories for Boys” Bono asks how many had been there in December when they played and gets an enthusiastic response. “You couldn’t have all been here!” is his reply. Bono sings several lines of the Monkees’ “I’m A Believer” during “Boy / Girl” after Bono spots a Monkees’ T-shirt in the crowd.

Bono is amazed by the crowd, asking “Are you usually this loud?” At the end of the show, U2 do something special for the crowd due to the enthusiastic response they have gotten. They play their new song “Fire” which has not yet been released. This makes this show the first show with two songs from October. Bono tells the crowd that they are going to be working on that new album, “There is a new album planned at the moment, in fact we’re obsessed by it. It’ll be out in October. We’re going home next week to start working on that for a month and we’ll record in July.”

Related News

Officially Released Tracks