Hammersmith Palais, London, England

Set List of Show:

Main Set:

  • "Carry Me Home"
  • "Twilight"
  • "I Will Follow"
  • "I Fall Down"
  • "An Cat Dubh"
  • "Into the Heart"
  • "Fire"
  • "Another Time, Another Place"
  • "The Electric Co."
  • "Things to Make and Do"
  • "Stories for Boys"
  • "Boy / Girl"
  • "Out of Control"

  • "11 O'Clock Tick Tock"
  • "The Ocean"
  • "I Will Follow"

Additional Music

Snippets of Other Songs Performed by U2:

    "Cry" (U2) / "Yankee Doodle" (Traditional Nursery Rhyme) / "I'm A Believer" (The Monkees) / "Frère Jacques" (Jean-Philippe Rameau) /

Show Details:

On their way back from playing The Netherlands, U2 stop for a one off show at the Hammersmith Palais. The show is attended by a 1500 strong sell out audience, and U2 are supported at the show by Altered Images and This Heat. This is U2’s last show until August. Tickets are £3.00 for the show available in advance or at the door.

The show opens with a new song that U2 have only played one other time, “Carry Me Home” which is being worked on for the October. It mostly consists of Bono repeating “Carry Me Home” and does not appear on the album when it is released. The song is not heard again after this performance. The show also features two songs that will feature on October with “I Fall Down” (still being called “When I Fall Down”) and “Fire” both performed tonight. Unlike most shows from the Boy tour, “11 O’Clock Tick Tock” is played just once, and is saved for the encore. Tonight “The Electric Co” features both “The Cry” and “Yankee Doodle.” “Boy / Girl” features a snippet of “I’m A Believer.”

At the end of “I Will Follow” Bono “well we used to play at a Monday night meeting here in London, at a place called the Marquee. It’s an old story I’m sure. A lot of people said that we could never take that atmosphere into a bigger place, well it’s here now!” and introduces “When I Fall Down.” When the crowd start clapping along Bono tells the crowd they are not supposed to know the song, and that its a dance song.

After tonight’s show, U2 head back to Dublin to start work on October in studio at Windmill Lane. They have two songs ready to go, “Fire” (already released as a single) and “I Fall Down”. “Stories for Boys” is dedicated to Bono’s cousin Jillian, who he’s never seen before, as well as Jim MacDuffie. “11 O’Clock Tick Tock” includes the references to “Frere Jacques” that Bono often includes. And introducing “I Will Follow” Bono calls London “A home away from home.”

Bruce Springsteen is in the audience tonight, after having been convinced to delay his return to the US to see the band. Afterwards he meets the band backstage after the show where he is photographed with the band. It is his first time meeting the band. Pete Townsend from The Who is also present and also visits with U2 after the show.

Related News

Officially Released Tracks