Gateshead International Stadium, Gateshead, England

Set List of Show:

  • "With a Shout (Jerusalem)"
  • "11 O'Clock Tick Tock"
  • "I Will Follow"
  • "An Cat Dubh"
  • "Into the Heart"
  • "Another Time, Another Place"
  • "The Electric Co."
  • "I Threw a Brick Through a Window"
  • "Stories for Boys"
  • "Out of Control"

  • "I Will Follow"
  • "Fire"

Additional Music

Snippets of Other Songs Performed by U2:

    "Cry" (U2) / "Yankee Doodle" (Traditional Nursery Rhyme) /

Show Details:

“Rock on the Tyne” was a two day festival held on August 29 and 30, 1981. U-2 was on the bill on the first night, and were third on the bill after Ian Dury and the Blockheads and Elvis Costello and the Attractions. Tickets for the show were £7.00 for an individual day, or £12.00 for the entire weekend. Tickets sold on the day of the show were £8.00. Grounds opened for the festival at 11am, with Huang Chung scheduled to take the stage at noon.

The stage was a covered band shell, at one end of the stadium. However with good weather all weekend, the coverage from rain was not needed. The show did not sell out, and it is estimated that between 10,000-15,000 were in attendance over both days. The organizers had been hoping of an audience of 20,000 each day.

U2’s set opens with “With a Shout” and also features “I Threw a Brick Through A Window,” and “Fire” from the upcoming album October. The other songs that are played are songs from <em>Boy</em. or before. “The Electric Co.” features snippets of “Cry” and “Yankee Doodle.” Throughout the show Bono is struggling with lyrics and improvises while the band struggles with some of the new material.

Related News

Officially Released Tracks