Coasters, Edinburgh, Scotland

Set List of Show:

Main Set:

  • "With a Shout (Jerusalem)"
  • "Twilight"
  • "I Will Follow"
  • "An Cat Dubh"
  • "Into the Heart"
  • "Another Time, Another Place"
  • "I Threw a Brick Through a Window"
  • "The Electric Co."
  • "Things to Make and Do"
  • "Stories for Boys"
  • "Boy / Girl"
  • "Out of Control"

  • "Fire"

Additional Music

Pre-Recorded Intro Song: "Love Song" -

Snippets of Other Songs Performed by U2:

    "Cry" (U2) / "Yankee Doodle" (Traditional Nursery Rhyme) / "I'm A Believer" (The Monkees) /

Show Details:

U2 continued their run of festivals with this appearance in Edinburgh as part of the city’s Rock Festival. Unlike most festivals, where all of the acts play in one area, this festival is spread out in venues across the city. U2 have Boots for Dancing as an opening act and the show is presented by Regular Music. The show opened at 11pm and tickets were priced at £3.00. As U2’s performance was a self contained one, we don’t list all of the festival acts like we would elsewhere, but others included Siouxsie & The Banshees, Joe Jackson and Killing Joke. The festival ran over a three week period. U2 take the stage while Simple Minds’ “Love Song” plays on the PA.

U2’s performance includes a few of the newer songs, but not as many as had been attempted at shows earlier in the month. This show appears to have been the final time that the instrumental “Things to Make and Do” is played. “The Electric Co.” contains snippets of “Cry” and “Yankee Doodle” and “Boy / Girl” contains a snippet of “I’m A Believer.”

Related News

Officially Released Tracks