Maxwell Hall, Salford University, Salford, England

Set List of Show:

Main Set:

  • "Gloria"
  • "Another Time, Another Place"
  • "Rejoice"
  • "An Cat Dubh"
  • "Into the Heart"
  • "I Threw a Brick Through a Window"
  • "The Electric Co."
  • "I Fall Down"
  • "October"
  • "With a Shout (Jerusalem)"
  • "I Will Follow"
  • "Twilight"
  • "Out of Control"

  • "Fire"
  • "11 O'Clock Tick Tock"
  • "The Ocean"

Additional Music

Snippets of Other Songs Performed by U2:

    "Can't Find My Way Home" (Blind Faith) / "Cry" (U2) /

Show Details:

This show in Salford was held at Maxwell Hall, on the campus of Salford University, not far from Manchester. The concert featured Comsat Angels and Wall of Voodoo as opening acts, although advance press listing these tour dates had only mentioned Wall of Voodoo. Doors for this show opened at 8pm, and tickets were £3.00. It is the band’s first appearance at Salford, although many references say that they had played there earlier in June 1981, however that concert had to be cancelled at the last minute due to other touring commitments.

During the show Bono includes a long snippet of “Can’t Find My Way Home” at the end of “An Cat Dubh.” “Cry” is included during “The Electric Co.” And while Bono does sing along to the tune of his usual “Send in the Clowns” snippet, he doesn’t sing any of the lyrics and makes up new ones.

During the show, Bono mentions that the crowd is shaking the floor so much that the bartender downstairs said the tiles are falling off the roof below. Reports say that people were leaving the bar below worried that the ceiling would fall completely. The crowd is energetic and give a great response to the band, but it is far more favourable to the songs released from Boy than the newer material, which has not yet been released. During the show Bono douses the crowd with water on a couple of occasions to cool them off.

Poster image courtesy of mdmarchive.co.uk.

Related News

Officially Released Tracks