Warwick Arts Centre, The University of Warwick, Coventry, England

Set List of Show:

Main Set:

  • "Gloria"
  • "Another Time, Another Place"
  • "Rejoice"
  • "An Cat Dubh"
  • "Into the Heart"
  • "I Threw a Brick Through a Window"
  • "The Electric Co."
  • "I Fall Down"
  • "October"
  • "Stories for Boys"
  • "I Will Follow"
  • "Twilight"
  • "Out of Control"

  • "Fire"
  • "11 O'Clock Tick Tock"
  • "The Ocean"

Additional Music

Snippets of Other Songs Performed by U2:

    "Cry" (U2) /

Show Details:

U2 perform in Coventry England as part of the October tour. They perform at the Warwick Arts Centre, part of the University of Warwick (known locally as Warwick University). The show is opened by Comsat Angels. Tickets are £3.00. Doors open at 8pm, and tickets are available to non-students. Tickets are sold from the box office as well as the Information Centre in Coventry, Arts Shop in the City Arcade in Birmingham, and John Gould’s Bookshop in Leamington Spa.

The show itself is typical of U2 from this era, with a mix of songs played from Boy and the upcoming October as well as “11 O’clock Tick Tock.” Introducing “Gloria” Bono tells the audience they will soon be able to hear it on the radio. (The single had just been released that week.) Bono later mentions he’s been trying to build up the courage to play some of the new songs, from the album due to be released next week, before the band breaks into “Rejoice.” Bono does extended improvisations of lyrics at the end of “An Cat Dubh,” at the end of “Into the Heart” and again during “The Electric Co.” where he normally would do “Send in the Clowns.” “Cry” opens “The Electric Co.” “Stories for Boys” returns to the setlist tonight, it has not been played since the summer festival dates that U2 have been doing. Asking if anyone was there from the night before, Bono receives mostly silence. Bono has been quiet at a number of shows in between songs, but tonight he seems to be loosening up and speaking more during the show.

Larry Mullen does an interview with local media at the soundcheck for this show in the afternoon.

Related News

Officially Released Tracks