Leicester Polytechnic, Leicester, England

Set List of Show:

Main Set:

  • "Gloria"
  • "Another Time, Another Place"
  • "Rejoice"
  • "An Cat Dubh"
  • "Into the Heart"
  • "I Threw a Brick Through a Window"
  • "The Electric Co."
  • "I Fall Down"
  • "October"
  • "Stories for Boys"
  • "I Will Follow"
  • "Twilight"
  • "Out of Control"

  • "Fire"
  • "11 O'Clock Tick Tock"
  • "The Ocean"

Additional Music

Snippets of Other Songs Performed by U2:

    "Cry" (U2) / "Yankee Doodle" (Traditional Nursery Rhyme) /

Show Details:

U2 play a show at the Leicester Polytechnic in Leicester as part of the October tour. The show is opened by Comsat Angels. Admission is £3.00. The venue is often referred to as just “The Arena” or the “Poly Arena”. The concert was promoted by the LPSU (Leicester Poly Student Union.) The show takes place a few days before October will be released, and the crowd have not heard the newer songs yet.

The show opens with one of those new songs, “Gloria,” now released to radio. “An Cat Dubh” ends with Bono repeating “Tonight, tonight” while the audience begins to clap loudly providing a backing beat which continues into “Into the Heart.” During “The Electric Co.” the band includes “Cry” at the opening of the song, and Bono includes “Yankee Doodle” as a snippet in the song. Bono had been quiet between songs at the start of this tour and this show is no different, he’s very quiet without the usual story telling in Leicester, generally sticking to just introducing the songs by name. Bono does play guitar on “I Fall Down” while The Edge plays piano, and before the song is played gets a little refresher on the chords he needs to play the song.

Related News

Officially Released Tracks