Lyceum Theatre, Sheffield, England

Set List of Show:

Main Set:

  • "Gloria"
  • "Another Time, Another Place"
  • "Rejoice"
  • "An Cat Dubh"
  • "Into the Heart"
  • "I Threw a Brick Through a Window"
  • "The Electric Co."
  • "I Fall Down"
  • "October"
  • "Stories for Boys"
  • "I Will Follow"
  • "Twilight"
  • "Out of Control"

  • "Fire"
  • "11 O'Clock Tick Tock"
  • "The Ocean"

Additional Music

Snippets of Other Songs Performed by U2:

    "Cry" (U2) /

Show Details:

The exact line up of who played this show is a little confused. Ads for U2’s Gloria tour and press coverage say that The Comsat Angels would not open Sheffield. In the ad for the tour it says “Special guests for the entire tour except the Sheffield gig will be the Comsat Angels.” A newspaper story covering the announcement includes “and the Comsats aren’t appearing in Sheffield.” Another band appear to have opened the show, in an interview with The Independent, Mark Burgess of The Chameleons talked about “Our third ever gig was with U2, at Sheffield Lyceum.” He does not mention the Comsat Angels. Burgess has also discussed the show in other interviews and has provided details about the evening. This was the only show that U2 played at the Lyceum in Sheffield that is known. But The Comsat Angels in a gig listing claim that they headlined the Lyceum that night, being the hometown group, and that U2 had opened for them. Due to the press that clearly stated the Angels would not be performing, we’ve chosen to list The Chameleons for this listing instead, and if anyone has any additional information we would be happy to hear from you. U2 certainly played a full set at the show, so it seems unlikely they were the opening act, unless they had done a separate performance before their own show.

The Chameleons played early, and there was a long delay before U2 took the stage. Bono would claim that the band were in the pub and didn’t realize that the opener had come off the stage. Burgess did share some memories about the after show, “Bono had gone off to bed early. We got talking to Adam Clayton and The Edge. They had just recorded [second album] October. The Edge told us they had made the LP for America. That was where they were headed. They chased that dream. The Chameleons didn’t. We were determined to stay true to our punk roots.”

Bono introduces the band after playing “Gloria”, saying “we’re called U2 and we’re from Dublin.” The band starts out “The Electric Co” with “Cry” and instead of a snippet tonight Bono talks about the night being special mid-song.

U2gigs.Com reports that U2 sound checked “Fire” which was played on this night, as well as “A Celebration” which was not played during this show. If they indeed did play “A Celebration” it was likely to work on development of the song which was not being released on the as yet unreleased October album. (“A Celebration” was recorded at the end of the year and released in March 1982)

Related News

Officially Released Tracks