Royal Court Theatre, Liverpool, England

Set List of Show:

Main Set:

  • "Gloria"
  • "Another Time, Another Place"
  • "Rejoice"
  • "An Cat Dubh"
  • "Into the Heart"
  • "I Threw a Brick Through a Window"
  • "The Electric Co."
  • "I Fall Down"
  • "October"
  • "Stories for Boys"
  • "I Will Follow"
  • "Twilight"
  • "Out of Control"

  • "11 O'Clock Tick Tock"
  • "The Ocean"
  • "Fire"

Additional Music

Snippets of Other Songs Performed by U2:

    "Cry" (U2) /

Show Details:

U2 play their first show at the Royal Court Theatre in Liverpool. They will return here twice, both times in 1983. The theatre is a seated theatre with a capacity of 1,186 with seats and stalls combined. U2 perform here with Comsat Angels as an opening act. Admission for the show is £3.00, and the show is reported to have sold out.

This is U2’s last show before October is released. The next show in Brighton will be after the album comes out. The album does well in the UK charts entering at number 11, likely due to the extensive touring U2 have been doing through the UK in support of the new material.

Introducing the new song, “Rejoice” Bono says “This is rejoice, and we will!” During the show “Cry” is included as part of “The Electric Co.” but instead of a snippet during the song Bono just makes up what seem to be his own lyrics. The crowd are enthusiastic during the show, and to cool them off Bono gets a small bucket of water which he throws on the front rows. As has been the case for most of the tour, Bono has been quiet in between songs, but he does a little more talking this evening, and stops to recognize the people who have been traveling with the band from show to show before “I Fall Down.”

Related News

Officially Released Tracks