Locarno, Bristol, England

Set List of Show:

Main Set:

  • "Gloria"
  • "Another Time, Another Place"
  • "Rejoice"
  • "An Cat Dubh"
  • "Into the Heart"
  • "I Threw a Brick Through a Window"
  • "The Electric Co."
  • "I Fall Down"
  • "October"
  • "Stories for Boys"
  • "I Will Follow"
  • "Twilight"
  • "Out of Control"

  • "Fire"
  • "11 O'Clock Tick Tock"
  • "The Ocean"

Additional Music

Snippets of Other Songs Performed by U2:

    "Cry" (U2) / "Send in the Clowns" (Stephen Sondheim from A Little Night Music) /

Show Details:

U2 return to Bristol to perform on the Gloria tour. The show takes place at the Locarno, part of a larger complex which included a cinema, bowling lanes, a casino and an ice rink. The show is opened by the Comsat Angels. Admission to the show, like others on the tour was £3.00.

The band open to a loud crowd with “Gloria.” The October album has been out for a week now and the crowds are now aware of the new songs, and giving them a response that early on in the tour was reserved for the older songs. “Cry” introduces “The Electric Co.” and Bono includes a snippet of “Send in the Clowns” in Bristol as well as some additional lines of his own creation ahead of the snippet. Ahead of “I Fall Down” Bono tests out a bit of the guitar, before the rest of the band starts the song. Throughout the show Bono doesn’t speak much between songs. He does stop to thank the crowd ahead of “Stories for Boys” saying “Tonight is great!” and again ahead of “Twilight,” saying “This is not the first time we played here in your city. There was about 27 people it seems the first night. Thank you for coming.” and calling the night “a special evening” as they launch into “Out of Control.” At the end of “11 O’Clock Tick Tock” Bono leads an energetic crowd in singing “La la la la” without any music, before the music cuts back in.

U2 Live lists the attendance for this show at 2,500, however published capacity numbers for the venue puts the capacity of the club at 2,000 in the ballroom.

Related News

Officially Released Tracks