Locarno, Birmingham, England

Set List of Show:

Main Set:

  • "Gloria"
  • "Another Time, Another Place"
  • "Rejoice"
  • "An Cat Dubh"
  • "Into the Heart"
  • "I Threw a Brick Through a Window"
  • "The Electric Co."
  • "I Fall Down"
  • "October"
  • "Stories for Boys"
  • "I Will Follow"
  • "Twilight"
  • "Out of Control"

  • "Fire"
  • "11 O'Clock Tick Tock"
  • "The Ocean"

Additional Music

Snippets of Other Songs Performed by U2:

Show Details:

The show in Birmingham is played at the Locarno, and is opened by the Comsat Angels. Admission is £3.00.

As the tour comes towards the end the band plays a strong show in Birmingham to a energetic crowd. Bono throws himself into “Rejoice,” losing track of the vocals at time. At the end of Into the Heart” the band is delayed starting the next song because “something is broken down,” as a roadie fixes the problem, Bono mentions how professional the band are now. Snippets of “Cry” and “Send in the Clowns” appear as part of “The Electric Co.” after Bono sings a few lines he’s written himself.

In a review of this show, Kevin Wilson says “U2 are despite recent media cooling, not only still hot, they are hotter. The new material from ‘October’ is presented here in its real light. ‘Gloria’, which is resonant on vinyl is positively hosanna-like in the flesh (Hosanna let’s go!) Even the mini-overture contained within the borders of ‘October’ comes alive when given the kiss of stage life. It takes the lilting and tilts it into the lulling only for it to be swept away by the tide of power that swallows up the tranquil moments. Bono clenches and punches, twisting emotion and sweating soul. The Edge poisons and points, riding the storm and drifting between ivory and steel with consumate ease. U2 are mainly unique and now stand as the Principal Irish Rock band.”

Related News

Officially Released Tracks