Radio City Music Hall, New York, NY, USA

Set List of Show:

Main Set:

  • "11 O'Clock Tick Tock"
  • "I Will Follow"
  • "Seconds"
  • "MLK"
  • "The Unforgettable Fire"
  • "Wire"
  • "Sunday Bloody Sunday"
  • "The Electric Co."
  • "A Sort of Homecoming"
  • "Bad"
  • "October"
  • "New Year's Day"
  • "Pride (In the Name of Love)"

  • "Party Girl"
  • "Gloria"
  • "40"

Additional Music

Snippets of Other Songs Performed by U2:

Show Details:

Although the show was advertised with Clannad as the opening act, this doesn’t happen, and The Waterboys who have been opening other shows leading up to this one take the slot instead. The show is listed as a sell out, and doors opened at 8pm. Some proceeds from the show are given to Amnesty International. The show takes place on the same evening that the Christmas tree is being lit at nearby Rockefeller Center and the streets are packed with people.

During the show Bono includes “Amazing Grace” during “The Electric Co.”, which opens with the snippet of “Cry”, an instrumental track the band has been including for years.

The show is a rowdy one, and the band has to stop the show at several points, asking people in the front rows to step back to the seating and not to rush the stage. Bono shows concerns for how security is handling the crowd. “I Will Follow” has to be stopped part way through. “Gloria” is also stopped part way through as security takes the stage to try to stop the crowd from further surges.

Little Steven, Richard Butler from the Psychedelic Furs were at this show.

Related News

Officially Released Tracks