National Car Rental Center, Fort Lauderdale, FL, USA

Set List of Show:

Main Set:

  • "Elevation"
  • "Beautiful Day"
  • "Until the End of the World"
  • "Discothèque"
  • "Stuck in a Moment You Can't Get Out Of"
  • "New York"
  • "New Year's Day"
  • "Sunday Bloody Sunday"
  • "Sweetest Thing"
  • "In a Little While"
  • "Angel of Harlem"
  • "Bad"
  • "Where the Streets Have No Name"
  • "Mysterious Ways"
  • "The Fly"

  • "Bullet the Blue Sky"
  • "With or Without You"
  • "One"
  • "Walk On"

Additional Music

Pre-Recorded Intro Song: "Elevation" (Influx Mix) - U2
Pre-Recorded Exit Song: "Satisfy My Soul" - Bob Marley

Snippets of Other Songs Performed by U2:

    "Creep" (Radiohead) / "(I'm Not Your) Steppin' Stone" (Paul Revere and the Raiders) / "Love to Love You Baby" (Donna Summer) / "Devil Inside" (INXS) / "Staring at the Sun" (U2) / "New York, New York" (Frank Sinatra) / "Could You Be Loved" (Bob Marley) / "Get Up Stand Up" (Bob Marley) / "Theme from Mission: Impossible" () / "Crazy Love" (Van Morrison) / "Ruby Tuesday" (Rolling Stones) / "Dance to the Music" (Sly and the Family Stone) / "Sexual Healing" (Marvin Gaye) / "Rock With You" (Michael Jackson) / "Whole Lotta Love" (Led Zeppelin) / "Young Americans" (David Bowie) / "Unchained Melody" (Alex North / Hy Zaret) / "Hallelujah" (Traditional Verse) /

Show Details:

Like the first show of the tour, PJ Harvey was due to open this show but had to cancel at the last minute. The Corrs replace her for the second time tonight. Bono comments at the end of the show “I’d like to wish PJ Harvey well and would like to thank The Corrs for stepping in.”

The second show runs very similar to the first but U2 do work in “Angel of Harlem” tonight. Bono makes a mess of the song and apologizes for it at the end of the performance calling it “Angel of Try Harder”. The songs “Gone”, “I Will Follow” and “The Ground Beneath Her Feet” that had appeared at the first show, two nights previous, are gone from the set list tonight.

During the show Bono brings girls on stage to dance during “Mysterious Ways” and “With or Without You”. With the pressure of opening night off and the good reviews starting to roll in, Bono appears much more relaxed and playful. He dedicates “In A Little While” to his wife Ali, announcing “My wife Ali who is here with a baby in her belly…this one is for you!” Band introductions include sharing Larry is “not so Junior, but still looks like it” and that Adam is “very much the same as when I met him at sixteen” and The Edge as “the scientist of the band.”

The band introduce a new video into the performance, coming before they play “Bullet the Blue Sky” in the encore. The video features Charlton Heston, actor and champion of the gun lobby in the US, sharing his ‘credo’: “There are no good guns. There are no bad guns. A gun in the hands of a bad man is a bad thing. Any gun in the hands of a good man is no threat to anyone, just to bad people.” The images on the screen are of a young child who picks up a gun in their home, and ends with the barrage of “Bullet the Blue Sky” starting. The video was not used on the first night.

The show includes the “Hear Us Coming” verse that Bono will sometimes use in “One” and he reads from Psalm 116 during the introduction to “Where the Streets Have No Name”. Snippets are added throughout the concert including Sinatra’s “New York New York” during “New York”, INXS’ “Devil Inside” during “Discotheque” and “Get Up Stand Up” being added to “Sunday Bloody Sunday” among many others.

Lenny Kravitz who was present at the first show is again spotted in the VIP area for this show, as was Daniel Lanois. Lanois will travel with the band to the next show in Charlotte as well. British media personality Simon Mayo is also in attendance at the show.

Of tonight’s show, Willie Williams shares in his tour diary, “The show was great, apparently, the general feeling being that the band’s performance was, if anything, superior to opening night. I, however, had a complete dog of a gig as right before show time one of the video cameras ceased to function leaving me with a blank screen.”

Related News

Officially Released Tracks