Stade de France, Paris, France

Set List of Show:

Main Set:

  • "Breathe"
  • "No Line on the Horizon"
  • "Get On Your Boots"
  • "Magnificent"
  • "Beautiful Day"
  • "Mysterious Ways"
  • "I Still Haven't Found What I'm Looking For"
  • "Angel of Harlem"
  • "Stuck in a Moment You Can't Get Out Of"
  • "Unknown Caller"
  • "The Unforgettable Fire"
  • "City Of Blinding Lights"
  • "Vertigo"
  • "I'll Go Crazy if I Don't Go Crazy Tonight"
  • "Sunday Bloody Sunday"
  • "Pride (In the Name of Love)"
  • "MLK"
  • "Walk On"
  • "Where the Streets Have No Name"

  • "Ultra Violet (Light My Way)"
  • "With or Without You"
  • "Moment of Surrender"

Additional Music

Pre-Recorded Intro Song: "Space Oddity" - David Bowie
Pre-Recorded Intro Song: "Soon" - U2
Pre-Recorded Exit Song: "Playground Love" - Air

Snippets of Other Songs Performed by U2:

    "Here Comes the Sun" (The Beatles) / "Man in the Mirror" (Michael Jackson) / "Don't Stop 'Til You Get Enough" (Michael Jackson) / "I Predict A Riot" (Kaiser Chiefs) / "That's the Way (I Like It)" (KC and the Sunshine Band) / "Let's Dance" (David Bowie) / "Reverend Black Grape" (Black Grape) / "You'll Never Walk Alone" (from Carousel by Rodgers and Hammerstein) / "All You Need is Love" (The Beatles) /

Show Details:

U2 perform for the second night in Paris, playing just outside of the city centre in Saint-Denis at the Stade de France. Support for the show are the Kaiser Chiefs. The band will do one further date at the Stade de France in 2010 as part of the third leg of the tour.

There is no soundcheck today for the show, but the band worked on a few things the previous day, including “Mysterious Ways” which makes its tour debut tonight.

Bono includes a tribute to Michael Jackson during “Angel of Harlem” with snippets of “Man in the Mirror” and “Don’t Stop ‘Til You Get Enough”. “Mysterious Ways” makes its tour debut tonight and Bono dedicates the edited version of the song to Johnny Hallyday who is present at the concert. Bono thanks Hallyday for the loan of the stadium. Willie Williams in his tour diary says, “Mysterious Ways was added tonight for the first time and given the rapturous reception it got, I’m sure we’ll see it again.”

Other snippets include “Here Comes the Sun” during “Beautiful Day”, “I Predict a Riot” during “Vertigo”, “Let’s Dance”, “That’s the Way (I Like It)” and “Reverend Black Grape” during “I’ll Go Crazy”. “You’ll Never Walk Alone” appears during “Walk On” and “All You Need is Love” makes an appearance during “Where the Streets Have No Name”.

Bono has a rough night when it comes to lyrics, making a mess out of “Magnificent” and “Walk On”.

The masks of Aung San Suu Kyi are not making a big impression at the shows, and U2.Com post a reminder about the masks, telling fans to look for them upon entering the stadium if you have GA tickets, and giving options to print the masks at home in advance.

Willie Williams in his diary mentions seeing the show from inside the ellipse for the first time since rehearsals, “to see the show from there is an entirely different experience. It’s almost comical how the entire stage production becomes almost irrelevant with such immediate proximity to the performance. In the mosh-pit however, there is also a startling proximity to one’s fellow man, which makes for a decidedly ‘intimate’ experience. It’s funny, with normal gigs if you want to get out of the crush, you’d naturally move backwards, but here you have to move sideways. There’s as much lateral movement in that part of the crowd as there is back and forth. It’s a very high energy situation particularly as I made a point of being there for ‘Crazy’ when the whole place really does take on the feeling of a dance party. At a U2 show – extraordinary!”

As well as Johnny Hallyday other celebrities at the show include actors Woody Harrelson, Javier Bardem and Penelope Cruz.

The show was not among those in the first announcement of the tour, it was announced only after the first had gone on sale. General sale for this show in France happened on March 27, with two days of presales, March 25 and March 26 for members of U2.Com. Tickets ranged from 34.30 Euro to 144.30 Euro.

Related News

Officially Released Tracks