Olympiastadion Berlin, Berlin, Germany

Set List of Show:

Main Set:

  • "Breathe"
  • "No Line on the Horizon"
  • "Get On Your Boots"
  • "Magnificent"
  • "Beautiful Day"
  • "Mysterious Ways"
  • "I Still Haven't Found What I'm Looking For"
  • "Angel of Harlem"
  • "Stay (Faraway, So Close!)"
  • "Unknown Caller"
  • "The Unforgettable Fire"
  • "City Of Blinding Lights"
  • "Vertigo"
  • "I'll Go Crazy if I Don't Go Crazy Tonight"
  • "Sunday Bloody Sunday"
  • "Pride (In the Name of Love)"
  • "MLK"
  • "Walk On"
  • "Where the Streets Have No Name"
  • "One"

  • "Ultra Violet (Light My Way)"
  • "With or Without You"
  • "Happy Birthday"
  • "Moment of Surrender"

Additional Music

Pre-Recorded Intro Song: "Space Oddity" - David Bowie
Pre-Recorded Intro Song: "Soon" - U2
Pre-Recorded Exit Song: "Rocket Man" - Elton John

Snippets of Other Songs Performed by U2:

    "Dickes B." (Seeed) / "Here Comes the Sun" (The Beatles) / "Movin' On Up" (Primal Scream) / "Man in the Mirror" (Michael Jackson) / "Don't Stop 'Til You Get Enough" (Michael Jackson) / "Let's Dance" (David Bowie) / "You'll Never Walk Alone" (from Carousel by Rodgers and Hammerstein) / "All You Need is Love" (The Beatles) /

Show Details:

Berlin gets only one show on the first leg of the U2360 tour, and they are playing the Olympiastadion. It looks like it may rain, but the show makes it to the end of the night without any rain.

Bono gives thanks to the crowd for giving the band a chance to build “this madness” asking how they are enjoying the “space junk.” Bono shares that the reason for building the stage was to get closer to the people who came to see the show. Introducing “I Still Haven’t Found What I’m Looking For” Bono speaks about the troubles facing the world, sharing, “Germany is tough enough, smart enough, creative enough, spunky enough to be bigger than any of the problems that face you.”

During “Angel of Harlem” Bono brings three fans onto stage and asks for guitars so they can play with the band. The band play “Stay (Faraway, So Close!)” for the first time ever on the tour. They end up playing bass, guitar and one shares the drum kit with Larry. Adam stood off and watched from one side.

Bono stops during the encore to talk about Nelson Mandela, and to sing him happy birthday. He turned 91 on the day of the show and then goes directly into “Moment of Surrender” taking a moment to give thanks to the crew “for building this dream of ours”. He’s particularly thankful for the crew tonight due to a stage collapse in Marseille ahead of a Madonna concert where one of her crew members was killed in the incident, and eight others injured.

During the show snippets include “Dickes B.” and “Here Comes to the Sun” during “Beautiful Day”, “Movin’ On Up” in “I Still Haven’t Found What I’m Looking For” and “Man in the Mirror” and “Don’t Stop ‘Till You Get Enough” appear for “Angel of Harlem”. “Vertigo” includes “She Loves You” and “Let’s Dance” is worked into “I’ll Go Crazy”. “You’ll Never Walk Alone” is part of “Walk On” and “All You Need is Love” makes an appearance in “Where the Streets Have No Name.”

During “One” Bono mentions that the song had been born in Berlin saying that it was “This next song we wrote here in this city, it’s a song that means very different things to very different people, it means a lot to the gay community, it means a lot in families, a father and son fighting, it means a lot to lovers. I’d like to say this has been an unbelievable night for us.” He then asks the crowd to take out their phones to send the band a kiss to be shown on the screen, but also asks them to turn the stadium into the milky way.

Snow Patrol was the opening act. The lead singer of Phish, Trey Anastasio, is at the show. Also present is Wim Wenders, long time friend of the band, who also directed the video for “Stay (Faraway, So Close!)” which had its tour debut this evening. Coincidence? Probably not! Bono dedicates “I Still Haven’t Found What I’m Looking For” to Wim and his wife Donata.

Related News

Officially Released Tracks