Wembley Stadium, London, England

Set List of Show:

Main Set:

  • "Breathe"
  • "No Line on the Horizon"
  • "Get On Your Boots"
  • "Magnificent"
  • "Beautiful Day"
  • "Until the End of the World"
  • "New Year's Day"
  • "I Still Haven't Found What I'm Looking For"
  • "Stay (Faraway, So Close!)"
  • "Unknown Caller"
  • "The Unforgettable Fire"
  • "City Of Blinding Lights"
  • "Vertigo"
  • "I'll Go Crazy if I Don't Go Crazy Tonight"
  • "Sunday Bloody Sunday"
  • "Pride (In the Name of Love)"
  • "MLK"
  • "Walk On"
  • "Where the Streets Have No Name"
Encore One:

  • "One"
  • "Bad"
Encore Two:

  • "Ultra Violet (Light My Way)"
  • "With or Without You"
  • "Moment of Surrender"

Additional Music

Pre-Recorded Intro Song: "Space Oddity" - David Bowie
Pre-Recorded Intro Song: "Soon" - U2
Pre-Recorded Exit Song: "Rocket Man" - Elton John

Snippets of Other Songs Performed by U2:

    "London Bridge is Falling Down" (Traditional Song) / "Fuck You, It's Over" (Glasvegas) / "Here Comes the Sun" (The Beatles) / "Break On Through" (The Doors) / "Whole Lotta Love" (Led Zeppelin) / "Stand By Me" (Ben E. King) / "A Day Without Me" (U2) / "London Calling" (The Clash) / "Rock and Roll" (Led Zeppelin) / "I Don't Want to Join the Army" (Traditional, World War I) / "Reverend Black Grape" (Black Grape) / "Two Tribes" (Frankie Goes to Hollywood) / "Get Up Stand Up" (Bob Marley) / "You'll Never Walk Alone" (from Carousel by Rodgers and Hammerstein) / "Fool to Cry" (Rolling Stones) / "40" (U2) /

Show Details:

The second night in Wembley Stadium of two shows in London. The tour is in the home stretch with only three shows to go after this evening. Support for the show is The Hours and Glasvegas.

The show is off the rails. The band and the fans seem to be having an incredible night. And at over 80,000 fans, the band are playing to a record audience for the second night in a row at Wembley Stadium.

During “Stay (Faraway, So Close!)” Bono shares that there’s a bit of the band in the new stadium. Joe O’Herlihy is said to have buried one of Edge’s picks in the foundations when he toured the building while under construction. O’Herlihy later confirms the story to a group of fans after the concert.

“One” appears near the end of the main set, but the last song before the encore tonight is “Bad”, making only its 4th appearance on the tour. Previously it was performed one night in Amsterdam, and two nights in Dublin. The song is altered a bit, with Bono making up sone new lyrics as he goes along. Bono also plays guitar on the song.

In a surprise to many fans, “A Day Without Me” makes a brief appearance tonight, during “The Unforgettable Fire”, U2 have not played the full song since 1985. Other snippets tonight include “Fuck You, It’s Over” (a song by opening act Glasvegas, and “Here Comes the Sun” during “Beautiful Day”, and like the previous night, Bono includes a bit of the nursery rhyme “London Bridge is Falling Down”. “Until the End of the World” includes a snippet of “Break on Through”, and afterwards The Edge works in a riff of “Whole Lotta Love” (Jimmy Page is present at the show.) “Stand By Me” comes at the end of “I Still Haven’t Found What I’m Looking For”, “London Calling” and Led Zeppelin’s “Rock and Roll” appear in “Vertigo”. For “I’ll Go Crazy” Bono adds in “I Don’t Want to join the Army”, “Reverend Black Grape” and “Two Tribes”. “Sunday Bloody Sunday” gets a bit of Bob Marley’s “Get Up Stand Up”, and “Walk On” gets “You’ll Never Walk Alone”. During “Bad” Bono snippets “Fool to Cry” as well as “40”.

A number of celebrities are spotted in the crowd including Kevin Spacey, Lars Ulrich of Metallica, Jimmy Page, Robert Downey Jr., and old school friend and now writer, Neil McCormick.

Willie Williams in his diary for U2.Com shares more about the roof situation, which had caused some sound issues the previous night, “When I got back to Wembley, the roof had been magically opened, transforming the building both visually and especially sonically. I can only imagine the conversations that had taken place behind closed doors but naturally I was delighted. I really enjoyed the night with the open sky above. This stage needs some space around it in order to breathe and feel comfortable. Good show, followed by a surprisingly early night.”

Tonight’s show is broadcast on BBC Radio 2 in an edited form. The broadcast includes the introduction, including “Soon”, and then “Breathe”, “Get On Your Boots”, “Magnificent”, “Until the End of the World”, “I Still Haven’t Found What I’m Looking For”, “City of Blinding Lights”, “Vertigo”, “I’ll Go Crazy”, “Sunday Bloody Sunday”, “Ultra Violet” and “With or Without You”.

Earlier in the day both “New Year’s Day” and “Until The End of the World” are worked on during the soundcheck, and both sound great in the show.

Related News

Officially Released Tracks