Hampden Park, Glasgow, Scotland, United Kingdom

Set List of Show:

Main Set:

  • "Breathe"
  • "No Line on the Horizon"
  • "Get On Your Boots"
  • "Magnificent"
  • "Beautiful Day"
  • "Elevation"
  • "I Still Haven't Found What I'm Looking For"
  • "Stuck in a Moment You Can't Get Out Of"
  • "Unknown Caller"
  • "The Unforgettable Fire"
  • "City Of Blinding Lights"
  • "Vertigo"
  • "I'll Go Crazy if I Don't Go Crazy Tonight"
  • "Sunday Bloody Sunday"
  • "Pride (In the Name of Love)"
  • "MLK"
  • "Walk On"
  • "Where the Streets Have No Name"
Encore One:

  • "One"
Encore Two:

  • "Ultra Violet (Light My Way)"
  • "With or Without You"
  • "Moment of Surrender"

Additional Music

Pre-Recorded Intro Song: "Space Oddity" - David Bowie
Pre-Recorded Intro Song: "Soon" - U2
Pre-Recorded Exit Song: "Rocket Man" - Elton John

Snippets of Other Songs Performed by U2:

    "Flower of Scotland" (The Corries) / "Here Comes the Sun" (The Beatles) / "Up on the Catwalk" (Simple Minds) / "Movin' On Up" (Primal Scream) / "I Don't Want to Join the Army" (Traditional, World War I) / "Two Tribes" (Frankie Goes to Hollywood) / "Oliver's Army" (Elvis Costello) / "All You Need is Love" (The Beatles) / "Fuck You, It's Over" (Glasvegas) /

Show Details:

After two successful nights in London, the show moves to Glasgow in Scotland for a single show at Hampden Park. It is U2’s only show in Scotland on this tour and things do not go smoothly.

Technical problems plague the show in a few places tonight. Bono’s mike keeps dropping out during the performance of “Pride” and continues into “MLK”. During “Walk On” the whole sound system dies and the band keep playing as if unaware that the audience cannot hear them. The sound is restored quickly but for three songs in a row, there were difficulties. The crowd seem unphased, and sing even louder from all reports.

“The Unforgettable Fire” is dedicated to Simple Minds tonight.

“One” follows “Where the Streets Have No Name” at the end of the main portion of the show. During the performance Bono includes the extended “Hear Us Coming” verse of the song.

Glasvegas and The Hours play ahead of U2 as the opening acts. Bono snippets Glasvegas’ “Fuck You, Its Over” during both “Where the Streets Have No Name” and “With or Without You”. Other snippets during the show include “Flower of Scotland” and “Here Comes the Sun” during “Beautiful Day”, Simple Minds’ “Up On the Catwalk” during “Elevation”, “Movin’ On Up” during “I Still Haven’t Found What I’m Looking For” and “A Day Without Me” during “The Unforgettable Fire”. “I’ll Go Crazy” gets snippets of “I Don’t Want to Join the Army” and “Two Tribes” and “Sunday Bloody Sunday” gets a snippet of “Oliver’s Army”. “All You Need is Love” appears at the end of “Where the Streets Have No Name”.

Lance Armstrong is spotted in the crowd during the show in Glasgow.

In The Scotsman, Fiona Shepherd reviewing the show shared, “U2 made a statement from the moment their fans arrived. To make the most obvious allusion, it looked like a massive cartoon spaceship had landed.
David Bowie’s Space Odyssey boomed through the PA system. Too obvious, perhaps, but no one comes to a U2 concert for subtlety.”

Related News

Officially Released Tracks