Giants Stadium, East Rutherford, NJ, USA

Set List of Show:

Main Set:

  • "Breathe"
  • "Magnificent"
  • "Get On Your Boots"
  • "Mysterious Ways"
  • "I Still Haven't Found What I'm Looking For"
  • "She's the One"
  • "Desire"
  • "Elevation"
  • "Your Blue Room"
  • "Beautiful Day"
  • "No Line on the Horizon"
  • "New Year's Day"
  • "Stuck in a Moment You Can't Get Out Of"
  • "The Unforgettable Fire"
  • "City Of Blinding Lights"
  • "Vertigo"
  • "I'll Go Crazy if I Don't Go Crazy Tonight"
  • "Sunday Bloody Sunday"
  • "MLK"
  • "Walk On"
Encore One:

  • "One"
  • "Where the Streets Have No Name"
Encore Two:

  • "Ultra Violet (Light My Way)"
  • "With or Without You"
  • "Moment of Surrender"

Additional Music

Pre-Recorded Intro Song: "Space Oddity" - David Bowie
Pre-Recorded Intro Song: "Soon" - U2
Pre-Recorded Exit Song: "Rocket Man" - Elton John

Snippets of Other Songs Performed by U2:

    "Don't Stop 'Til You Get Enough" (Michael Jackson) / "Mofo" (U2) / "Rock 'N' Roll High School" (The Ramones) / "Thank You (Falettinme Be Mice Elf Agin)" (Sly and the Family Stone) / "Pinhead" (The Ramones) / "You'll Never Walk Alone" (from Carousel by Rodgers and Hammerstein) / "Amazing Grace" (John Newton and William Walker) / "All You Need is Love" (The Beatles) /

Show Details:

The fourth city on the second leg of U2’s 360 tour in North America is East Rutherford, NJ at Giant’s Stadium. Originally this was due to be the 2nd concert, scheduled for September 25, 2009. But due to a scheduling issue with a New York Jets game, this show has to be moved, and ends up happening earlier. The Jets game was rescheduled itself out of respect for the Yom Kippur holiday. The change is announced on August 27. Muse opens the show, their first show on the tour. And during their set he includes a bit of “The Fly” on guitar before breaking into their song “Uprising”.

A number of changes are worked into the set tonight. “Breathe” which had been missing at the last show in Foxborough is back tonight, and opens the set as it has for the rest of the show. But another song from No Line on the Horizon, “Unknown Caller” does not make the cut tonight, being dropped for the third time ever on the tour. “No Line on the Horizon” usually falls in the first few songs, is moved after “Beautiful Day” tonight.

Bruce Springsteen is at the show tonight, and it’s his 60th birthday. U2 perform his song “She’s the One” early in the show to celebrate, turning it into a medley with “Desire” for the last couple of minutes of the song. During the chorus Bono is changing lyrics up, singing “He’s the One” to celebrate The Boss’ birthday this evening. The song was soundchecked earlier in the day but Springsteen himself, so it appears that at one point there were possible plans to bring him on stage.

“Your Blue Room” is back tonight, it’s fourth appearance on the tour leg, and like earlier shows, the final verse is recited from the International Space Station by Frank De Winne in a pre-taped appearance. The song also includes vocals by Sinead O’Connor tonight, also pre-taped.

“Beautiful Day” is dedicated to Quincey Jones tonight who is also in the building to watch the show. “One” is dedicated to actress Natasha Richardson, wife of Liam Neeson, who had died earlier this year.

U2 worked a number of snippets into the show, including “Don’t Stop ‘Til you Get Enough” in “Beautiful Day”, “Mofo” in “City of Blinding Lights”, “Rock ‘N’ Roll High School” into “Vertigo”, “Thank You (Falettinme Be Mice Elf Agin)” and “Pinhead” into “I’ll Go Crazy” and “You’ll Never Walk Alone” in “Walk On”. In the encore, “Where the Streets Have No Name” includes “Amazing Grace” and “All You Need is Love” and Bono slips in the extended verse, “Hear Us Coming” into “One.”

Rafer Guzmain in Newsday shared, “for most fans, the high point seemed to be past favorites such as ‘I Still Haven’t Found What I’m Looking For,’ on which Bono gladly let the crowd take lead vocals, and ‘Sunday Bloody Sunday,’ which he bookended with salutes to political dissidents in Iran. Parts of the show centered on a vague space theme, with footage of astronauts appearing on a giant wrap-around video screen (hence the name of the ’360-Degree Tour’). But the band made light of that, too. Walking over a bridge from the stage into the crowd, the somewhat diminutive Bono joked, ‘One step for a small man.’”

Jon Pareles with the New York Times shared, “The concert was high-minded and earthy, exalted and playful, sometimes even goofy, wielding rock-star prerogatives while undercutting them with disarming informality. ‘We’re very humbled,’ Bono said to one wave of applause, and smiled. ‘Well, maybe not.’”

Soundcheck ahead of the show also included “Unknown Caller”, “Where the Streets Have No Name”, “Magnificent”, “Breathe”, “Your Blue Room” and the transition into “Beautiful Day”.

Related News

Officially Released Tracks