FedEx Field, Landover, MD, USA

Set List of Show:

Main Set:

  • "Breathe"
  • "Magnificent"
  • "Get On Your Boots"
  • "Mysterious Ways"
  • "I Still Haven't Found What I'm Looking For"
  • "Elevation"
  • "Your Blue Room"
  • "Beautiful Day"
  • "New Year's Day"
  • "Stuck in a Moment You Can't Get Out Of"
  • "The Unforgettable Fire"
  • "City Of Blinding Lights"
  • "Vertigo"
  • "I'll Go Crazy if I Don't Go Crazy Tonight"
  • "Sunday Bloody Sunday"
  • "MLK"
  • "Walk On"
Encore One:

  • "One"
  • "Where the Streets Have No Name"
Encore Two:

  • "Ultra Violet (Light My Way)"
  • "With or Without You"
  • "Moment of Surrender"

Additional Music

Pre-Recorded Intro Song: "Space Oddity" - David Bowie
Pre-Recorded Intro Song: "Soon" - U2
Pre-Recorded Exit Song: "Rocket Man" - Elton John

Snippets of Other Songs Performed by U2:

    "Stand By Me" (Ben E. King) / "Blackbird" (The Beatles) / "Mofo" (U2) / "Let's Dance" (David Bowie) / "Don't Stop 'Til You Get Enough" (Michael Jackson) / "You'll Never Walk Alone" (from Carousel by Rodgers and Hammerstein) / "Amazing Grace" (John Newton and William Walker) / "All You Need is Love" (The Beatles) /

Show Details:

U2 have played two shows in each city so far on the U2360 tour. But for the remainder of the tour, including tonight, the band will only play a single show in each city. The show tonight is in Landover, Maryland, at the FedEx Field but is advertised as a show for Washington DC. Muse returns to open the show tonight.

The show is a fairly standard one for the band, but of note is “No Line on the Horizon” being missing from the set list. It is the first time the song has missed a U2360 concert since the tour started in Barcelona in June. “Unknown Caller” is also missing from the show tonight.

As he has done in all of the other cities on the tour leg, Bono pulls a young boy, Andy, onto the stage for “City of Blinding Lights”. He does the now-familiar routine, of leading him around the outer walkway, even racing him at one point, and at the end allowing him to try on his sunglasses. During “Beautiful Day” Bono stops to remember “the Beautiful Eunice Shriver” and “New Year’s Day” is dedicated to the recently departed Ted Kennedy tonight.

For the band introductions Bono singled himself out as “Speaker of the House”, Larry was the author of the band’s Constitution and their leader of the opposition, Adam was either Minister of Culture or Secretary of State, and The Edge was President.

Snippets throughout the night include “Stand By Me” at the end of “I Still Haven’t Found What I’m Looking For” and “Blackbird” as part of “Beautiful Day”. “Mofo” makes a brief appearance in “City of Blinding Lights”. “Let’s Dance” and “Don’t Stop ‘Til You Get Enough” both make an appearance during “I’ll Go Crazy”, and “Walk On” gets a snippet of “You’ll Never Walk Alone”. In the encore, “Where the Streets Have No Name” gets a snippet of both “Amazing Grace” and “All You Need is Love”. During “One” Bono sings the extended “Hear Us Coming” verse.

In attendance tonight were Nancy Pelosi, speaker of the US House of Representatives, Paul Kagame, President of Rwanda, Ngozi Okonjo-Iweala, Managing Director of the World Bank as well as the President of Uganda, Yoweri Museveni. Broadcaster George Stephanopooulos is at the show as well.

In his tour diary for U2.com, Willie Williams shares, “The only downer (and I perhaps shouldn’t say this, but it happened with 88,000 witnesses so is hardly a secret) was that when Bono gave a name check to Nancy Pelosi, speaker of the house, who was present at the show, a good portion of the audience booed audibly. Apart from the fact of simply being bloody rude, it seemed so symptomatic of the reflex responses that are so tangibly present in this deeply divided country, even on a big night out. By contrast, Bono name-checked the president of Rwanda (also present – it was a big night) and got a big cheer. I’m really not sure what to make of what’s going on here at the moment.”

Related News

Officially Released Tracks