University of Phoenix Stadium, Phoenix, AZ, USA

Set List of Show:

Set List:

  • "Breathe"
  • "Get On Your Boots"
  • "Magnificent"
  • "Mysterious Ways"
  • "Beautiful Day"
  • "I Still Haven't Found What I'm Looking For"
  • "Stuck in a Moment You Can't Get Out Of"
  • "No Line on the Horizon"
  • "Elevation"
  • "In a Little While"
  • "Unknown Caller"
  • "Until the End of the World"
  • "The Unforgettable Fire"
  • "City Of Blinding Lights"
  • "Vertigo"
  • "I'll Go Crazy if I Don't Go Crazy Tonight"
  • "Sunday Bloody Sunday"
  • "MLK"
  • "Walk On"
Encore One:

  • "One"
  • "Where the Streets Have No Name"

Additional Music

Pre-Recorded Intro Song: "Space Oddity" - David Bowie
Pre-Recorded Intro Song: "Soon" - U2
Pre-Recorded Exit Song: "Rocket Man" - Elton John

Snippets of Other Songs Performed by U2:

    "Blackbird" (The Beatles) / "Dirty Old Town" (The Dubliners) / "Mofo" (U2) / "Thank You (Falettinme Be Mice Elf Agin)" (Sly and the Family Stone) / "Two Tribes" (Frankie Goes to Hollywood) / "Rock the Casbah" (The Clash) / "You'll Never Walk Alone" (from Carousel by Rodgers and Hammerstein) / "Amazing Grace" (John Newton and William Walker) / "All You Need is Love" (The Beatles) /

Show Details:

Tonight’s show is in Glendale, Arizona. The band are playing the University of Phoenix Stadium. The show is opened by Black Eyed Peas, their second show with U2. The show is one where the show really could be better described as 270-degrees, as there are few seats behind the stage itself. The show is an open air show.

“Dirty Old Town” is played for Shane MacGowan of the Pogues at the end of “I Still Haven’t Found What I’m Looking For”. MacGowan is at the concert tonight, and Bono dedicates the snippet to him. It’s the first time “Dirty Old Town” has appeared as a snippet during the U2360 tours.

During the show “In A Little While” makes another appearance. It has recently been added back into the shows, and seems a permanent addition. Bono brings three sisters on stage during “In a Little While” and they remain on stage sitting beside Larry Mullen for “Unknown Caller”. Bono continues to interact with them through that song.

Snippets include “Blackbird” in “Beautiful Day”, “Mofo” during “City of Blinding Lights”, “Thank You (Falettinme Be Mice Elf Agin)” and “Two Tribes” during “I’ll Go Crazy” and “Rock The Casbah” during “Sunday Bloody Sunday”. “You’ll Never Walk Alone” appears during “Walk On” and “Amazing Grace” and “All You Need is Love” appear during “Where the Streets Have No Name”. Bono also adds the extended “Hear Us Coming” verse into “One” tonight.

In The Arizona Republic a review focuses on the stage rather than the performance itself. “The impressive scale fo U2’s 360 Degree tour was accomplished with a stage that dominated most of the south end of the stadium. The structure’s 150-foot pinnacle nearly touched the edge of the stadium’s open roof. The group’s frontman, Bono, utilized the large stage to try to connect with the enthusiastic crowd of all ages.” Also in The Arizona Republic a report by Larry Rodgers shares, “The show delivered pretty much what most fans expect of this iconic band. But despite the spectacle of the massive stage and video set-up, the stadium setting couldn’t help but dilute some of U2’s impact. Perhaps fearing a traffic jam on a work night, hundreds of fans steadily streamed out of the stadium during U2’s three-song encore.”

The show was attended by Muhammad Ali and Senator John McCain and his wife Cindy. Bono dedicates “Beautiful Day” to Ali, and “Moment of Surrender” to McCain.

Related News

Officially Released Tracks