Madison Square Garden, New York, NY, USA

Set List of Show:

Set List:

  • "Vertigo"
  • "Magnificent"
  • "Because the Night"
  • "I Still Haven't Found What I'm Looking For"
  • "Mysterious Ways"
  • "Gimme Shelter"
  • "Stuck in a Moment You Can't Get Out Of"

  • "Beautiful Day"

Additional Music

Snippets of Other Songs Performed by U2:

    "It's Only Rock and Roll (But I Like It)" (Rolling Stones) / "The Promised Land" (Bruce Springsteen) / "Where Is the Love?" (Black Eyed Peas) / "One" (U2) / "Because the Night" (Bruce Springsteen) /


U2 perform at the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame 25th anniversary shows at Madison Square Garden, featuring a number of guests.

Show Details:

To celebrate the 25th anniversary of the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame, two concerts were organized in New York City at Madison Square Garden. The two day event was open to the public and was headlined by a number of acts. Tickets for the event ran between $75 and $2000.

The plan for the show was to have Hall of Fame inductees perform their own songs, as well as songs by other artists, and each would be accompanied by a number of guest performers throughout their set.

U2 played on the second night of the shows. The headliners of each segment that night were Aretha Franklin, Jeff Beck, Metallica and U2. Throughout the evening guest performers included Annie Lennox, Lenny Kravitz, Sting, Buddy Guy, Billy Gibbons, Lou Reed, Ozzy Osbourne and Ray Davies. Appearing with U2 were Bruce Springsteen, Patti Smith, Roy Bittan, the Black Eyed Peas and Mick Jagger.

U2 opened with “Vertigo” and “Magnificent” before moving onto Springsteen’s song “Because the Night”, accompanied by Springsteen, Patti Smith and Roy Bittan (E Street Band). Springsteen and Bittan also joined the band for “I Still Haven’t Found What I’m Looking For”, and then U2 moved on to do “Mysterious Ways” by themselves.

They were then joined on stage by the Black Eyed Peas for a mash up of the Peas song “Where is the Love?” and their own “One”. Fergie and Will.i.am continued with U2, now joined by Mick Jagger to perform the Rolling Stone’s “Gimme Shelter”. Jagger would also join U2 for “Stuck in a Moment You Can’t Get Out Of”, and then U2 finished out the night with “Beautiful Day”.

A DVD of the two shows was released, although the performances of “Mysterious Ways” and “One” are not on the main disc, but are included as bonus performances. All of the tracks are included on an audio CD released of the show, in fact U2’s performances make up one of the four CDs in the released set.

In his tour diary on U2.com, Willie Williams shares, “As this afternoon, I watched the show from the TV truck and generally things went pretty much to plan. The highlight of U2’s set was ‘Gimme Shelter’ with Bono, Fergie and Mick Jagger sharing the vocal parts. Jagger stayed to perform ‘Stuck in a Moment’ which turned out to be really charming. I wasn’t sure about it at the rehearsal this afternoon as it felt a little awkward. It was very interesting to see Jagger finding himself as the rehearsal progressed. U2 had been rehearsing for about an hour before he arrived and so were a little more comfortable in this new stage situation. Jagger was walking in cold, though, and you could almost see his instincts feeling out, like radar scanning for clues as to exactly what this environment was and how best to respond. It’s fair to say that by show time he’d absolutely nailed it, taking the U2 song and bringing something of his own to it.”

Related News

Officially Released Tracks