CASA Arena, Horsens, Denmark

Set List of Show:

Main Set:

  • "Return of the Stingray Guitar"
  • "Beautiful Day"
  • "New Year's Day"
  • "Get On Your Boots"
  • "Magnificent"
  • "Mysterious Ways"
  • "Elevation"
  • "I Still Haven't Found What I'm Looking For"
  • "Glastonbury"
  • "In a Little While"
  • "Miss Sarajevo"
  • "Until the End of the World"
  • "The Unforgettable Fire"
  • "City Of Blinding Lights"
  • "Vertigo"
  • "I'll Go Crazy if I Don't Go Crazy Tonight"
  • "Sunday Bloody Sunday"
  • "MLK"
  • "Walk On"
Encore One:

  • "One"
  • "Amazing Grace"
Encore Two:

  • "Hold Me, Thrill Me, Kiss Me, Kill Me"
  • "With or Without You"
  • "Moment of Surrender"

Additional Music

Pre-Recorded Intro Song: "Space Oddity" - David Bowie
Pre-Recorded Exit Song: "Rocket Man" - Elton John

Snippets of Other Songs Performed by U2:

    "Rain" (The Beatles) / "Sunday Mornin' Comin' Down" (Kris Kristofferson) / "Help Me Make it Through the Night" (Kris Kristofferson) / "Follow the Yellow Brick Road" (Judy Garland and the Munchkins) / "Teenage Kicks" (The Undertones) / "Discothèque" (U2) / "Get Up Stand Up" (Bob Marley) / "You'll Never Walk Alone" (from Carousel by Rodgers and Hammerstein) / "Amazing Grace" (John Newton and William Walker) /

Show Details:

The third leg of the tour started with three solo shows in three different cities. Tonight they move to Horsens, Denmark, and they play the first of two shows in Horsens at the CASA Arena. Joining U2 for the show tonight are Snow Patrol, rejoining the tour after almost a year off. The venue is the smallest venue on the European schedule. The claw can be seen looming over the sides of the stadium as one arrives at the venue.

The audience is into the show tonight, and its called one of the loudest audiences on the tour. The show is identical to the previous set list used in Hannover.

Bono speaks highly of Denmark and their work on debt relief. He also speaks about Helena Christensen, and thanks her for her efforts on ONE and the Chernobyl Children’s Project.

Like the previous shows, only “Glastonbury” and “Return of the Stingray Guitar” make appearances in the set list tonight. The third new song “North Star”, heard at the first show in Turin, is not played tonight.

Bono speaks about meeting Kris Kristofferson the day before at Sean Penn’s birthday in Dublin. Bono calls him “an astonishing man and an astonishing songwriter”. Bono adds snippets of “Sunday Mornin’ Coming Down” and “Help Me Make it Through the Night” during “I Still Haven’t Found What I’m Looking For”.

At the end of the show Bono starts to introduce “Moment of Surrender” but the loud crowd isn’t having it. They continue to sing “With or Without You” drowing out Bono as he tries to speak, so he just looks out in awe.

Other snippets tonight include “Rain” during “Mysterious Ways”, “Follow the Yellow Brick Road” during “City of Blinding Lights”, “Teenage Kicks” appears in “Vertigo” and “Discotheque” appears in “I’ll Go Crazy”. “Get Up Stand Up” makes an appearance in “Sunday Bloody Sunday”, “You’ll Never Walk Alone” appears in “Walk On” and “Where the Streets Have No Name” starts with “Amazing Grace”.

Willie Williams in his diary for U2.com shares, “Given our proximity to the arctic circle, I’d expected that the late-daylight situation would be far worse than it actually was. U2 were a little late on stage which always helps, but we had a decent level of darkness almost from the top of the show. It seemed that a good portion of the audience had spent much of the day wandering about the venue with specially constructed cardboard holders that could carry five pints of beer at once (way to go!) The place was rammed and come show time they were very rowdy, very drunk and reminiscent of a UK audience to the point where I almost had a twinge of homesickness. They certainly seemed to be having a good time, anyway.”

Danish crown prince Frederik, and Princess Mar are at the show tonight as is Helena Christensen, attending with her family, who will come again the next night. The Edge’s family is also in town for these shows.

Related News

Officially Released Tracks