Olympic Stadium, Helsinki, Finland

Set List of Show:

Main Set:

  • "Return of the Stingray Guitar"
  • "Beautiful Day"
  • "New Year's Day"
  • "Get On Your Boots"
  • "Magnificent"
  • "Elevation"
  • "Until the End of the World"
  • "I Still Haven't Found What I'm Looking For"
  • "North Star"
  • "Glastonbury"
  • "In a Little While"
  • "Miss Sarajevo"
  • "City Of Blinding Lights"
  • "Vertigo"
  • "I'll Go Crazy if I Don't Go Crazy Tonight"
  • "Sunday Bloody Sunday"
  • "MLK"
  • "Walk On"
Encore One:

  • "One"
  • "Where the Streets Have No Name"
Encore Two:

  • "Ultra Violet (Light My Way)"
  • "With or Without You"
  • "Moment of Surrender"

Additional Music

Pre-Recorded Intro Song: "Space Oddity" - David Bowie
Pre-Recorded Exit Song: "Rocket Man" - Elton John

Snippets of Other Songs Performed by U2:

    "Teenage Kicks" (The Undertones) / "Discothèque" (U2) / "You'll Never Walk Alone" (from Carousel by Rodgers and Hammerstein) / "Amazing Grace" (John Newton and William Walker) /

Show Details:

U2 move on to Helsinki, Finland next, where they play the Olympic Stadium. They will play two shows in Helsinki. They are joined in Helsinki by Razorlight as an opening act. It is a wet and rainy day, but it lets up a bit before showtime. It’s U2’s first time in Helsinki since the PopMart tour. This concert sets a record for fastest selling concert in Finnish history, selling 50,000 tickets in less than two hours. The record stands until 2019, when it was broken by Ed Sheeran.

Ahead of the show Willie Williams works with the crew on some new video and lighting elements for “City of Blinding Lights”, “With or Without You” and “Miss Sarajevo”.

The show itself gets a bit of a delay at the start. The screen has been fully extended, and now doesn’t seem to want to return to it’s normal position. The crew decides to attempt to fix it, and announces what is happening, however through the show there is evidence it’s not working properly and some visuals don’t work properly. Also during the show “I’ll Go Crazy” has some issues with the backing track used for the band to play over, the pre-recorded loops go silent. The show is delayed by about 20 minutes due to the issues with the screen.

Tonight “North Star” makes its second appearance on the tour. The new song was played at the opening show in Turin but had not turned up since until tonight. It is one of three new songs that the band have been playing on this tour leg. Tonight it is performed by Bono and the Edge.

“Hold Me, Thrill Me, Kiss Me, Kill Me” is not performed tonight. It is the first time since the start of the leg that it is not played. Instead the band return “Ultra Violet” to the set list where it had been during the first and second leg of the tour.

Snippets today include “Teenage Kicks” during “Vertigo”, “Discotheque” during “I’ll Go Crazy”, “You’ll Never Walk Alone” during “Walk On” and “Amazing Grace” during “Where the Streets Have No Name”.

Rehearsal today included elements of “Discotheque”, “North Star”, “Glastonbury”, “Miss Sarajevo” and “City of Blinding Lights”. Thank you to U2Log.com for providing information on the sound check.

The Finnish Prime Minister, Mari Kiviniemi, and the Minister for Foreign Affairs, Alexander Stubb, were both present at the show tonight. Bono had met with Kiviniemi prior to the show.

In YLE News a review shared “U2’s concert at the Helsinki Olympic Stadium ended on Friday with the audiences mobile phones conjuring a sea of light. During the concert, it became clear the band has done their homework well. Bono had time to praise Finland and the Fins and occasionally shared comments in Finish.”

Tickets for this show go on sale on October 5, 2009. U2.Com presales start on September 20.

Related News

Officially Released Tracks