Olympic Stadium, Helsinki, Finland

Set List of Show:

Main Set:

  • "Return of the Stingray Guitar"
  • "Beautiful Day"
  • "I Will Follow"
  • "Get On Your Boots"
  • "Magnificent"
  • "Mysterious Ways"
  • "No Line on the Horizon"
  • "Elevation"
  • "I Still Haven't Found What I'm Looking For"
  • "Every Breaking Wave"
  • "Glastonbury"
  • "In a Little While"
  • "Miss Sarajevo"
  • "City Of Blinding Lights"
  • "Vertigo"
  • "I'll Go Crazy if I Don't Go Crazy Tonight"
  • "Pride (In the Name of Love)"
  • "MLK"
  • "Walk On"
Encore One:

  • "One"
  • "Where the Streets Have No Name"
Encore Two:

  • "Hold Me, Thrill Me, Kiss Me, Kill Me"
  • "With or Without You"
  • "Moment of Surrender"

Additional Music

Pre-Recorded Intro Song: "Space Oddity" - David Bowie
Pre-Recorded Exit Song: "Rocket Man" - Elton John

Snippets of Other Songs Performed by U2:

    "Singin' In the Rain" (Gene Kelly) / "My Sweet Lord" (George Harrison) / "Norwegian Wood" (The Beatles) / "Rock and Roll" (Led Zeppelin) / "Discothèque" (U2) / "You'll Never Walk Alone" (from Carousel by Rodgers and Hammerstein) / "Rain" (The Beatles) /

Show Details:

U2 play the second of two shows in Helsinki tonight. Razorlight open the show tonight. Like the previous show, it’s wet and rainy through the day but clears up before show time.

The band also do a soundcheck, and Willie works with the band to change up the set list, including adding a ‘busker’ version of “No Line On the Horizon”, and the band introduce “I Will Follow” and “Pride (In the Name of Love)” to the show for the first time on this leg of the tour tonight. It is the first time that “I Will Follow” is played on the U2360 tour. “No Line On the Horizon” was a partially acoustic version of the song.

The big surprise tonight is the debut of a new song during the set, “Every Breaking Wave”. Bono and The Edge have been working on the song and finally feel it is ready for an audience. The song was planned for No Line on the Horizon but was cut when the album went from a double album to a single album. Currently it is planned as the first single from U2’s next album, Songs of Ascent. In reality it will make the next album, but it will be the second song released from that album, Songs of Innocence. The song is the fourth new track that is introduced on the U2360 tour, joining “Return of the Stingray Guitar”, “North Star” and “Glastonbury”. Tonight is the last time that U2 play “Glastonbury” in concert.

Ahead of “MLK” Bono is playing with some new verses which may be the start of yet another unknown new song. The lyrics are sung over the music for “MLK”.

For introductions tonight Bono turns to the national author of Finland, Aleksis Kivi and his book Seven Brothers, naming the band after brothers in the book.

“Hold Me, Thrill Me, Kiss Me, Kill Me” returns to the show tonight after being replaced at the previous show by “Ultra Violet”.

Snippets tonight include “Singin’ in the Rain” during “Beautiful Day” and again during “City of Blinding Lights” and “Moment of Surrender”, “My Sweet Lord” and “Norwegian Wood” during “Mysterious Ways”, Led Zeppelin’s “Rock and Roll” during “Glastonbury”, “Discotheque” appears in “I’ll Go Crazy” and “You’ll Never Walk Alone” appears during “Walk On”. “Rain” appears during “One”.

Willie Williams in his diary for U2.com mentions, “My favourite was Every Breaking Wave, which was on the set list as an either/or with North Star, in what appears to be becoming the ‘new song’ slot. The world premiere performance of Every Breaking Wave depended, quite literally, on whether they could finish writing the song before show time. I left Bono and Edge in the dressing room working out various options for chorus, melodies on so forth and still didn’t know whether they’d make it until the moment in the show arrived. I was just delighted that they went for it and, though clearly unfinished, it sounded beautiful.”

Along with “No Line of Horizon”, “I Will Follow” and “Pride (In the Name of Love)” the band have also rehearsed “Bad” today.

In the audience are a number of members of U2’s family. Bono’s daughter and nephews are at the show. The Edge’s family is also present including Holly, Sian, Levi, and his parents Garvin and Gwenda. During the show Bono thanks Gwenda for being the first member of U2’s crew. (She used to drive the band around Ireland.)

Tickets go on sale for this show on October 23, 2009. U2.Com presales start on October 21.

Related News

Officially Released Tracks