Olympiastadion, Munich, Germany

Set List of Show:

Main Set:

  • "Return of the Stingray Guitar"
  • "Beautiful Day"
  • "I Will Follow"
  • "Get On Your Boots"
  • "Magnificent"
  • "Mysterious Ways"
  • "Elevation"
  • "Until the End of the World"
  • "I Still Haven't Found What I'm Looking For"
  • "North Star"
  • "Mercy"
  • "In a Little While"
  • "Miss Sarajevo"
  • "City Of Blinding Lights"
  • "Vertigo"
  • "I'll Go Crazy if I Don't Go Crazy Tonight"
  • "Sunday Bloody Sunday"
  • "Mothers of the Disappeared"
  • "Walk On"
Encore One:

  • "One"
  • "Where the Streets Have No Name"
Encore Two:

  • "Ultra Violet (Light My Way)"
  • "With or Without You"
  • "Moment of Surrender"
  • "Singin' In the Rain"

Additional Music

Pre-Recorded Intro Song: "Space Oddity" - David Bowie
Pre-Recorded Exit Song: "Rocket Man" - Elton John

Snippets of Other Songs Performed by U2:

    "My Sweet Lord" (George Harrison) / "Anthem" (Leonard Cohen) / "Funky Town" (Pseudo Echo) / "Two Tribes" (Frankie Goes to Hollywood) / "Discothèque" (U2) / "Relax" (Frankie Goes to Hollywood) / "You'll Never Walk Alone" (from Carousel by Rodgers and Hammerstein) / "Amazing Grace" (John Newton and William Walker) / "All You Need is Love" (The Beatles) / "Purple Rain" (Prince) /

Show Details:

U2 move along to Munich, Germany next. It is their third night playing in Germany on this leg of the tour, and they’ve played three different cities. OneRepublic joins them as the opening act tonight, and it is OneRepublic’s last show with U2 on this tour. Although most of the show is dry, it begins to rain during the encore. U2 have faced a number of nights of rain throughout this tour, far more than they’ve had nice nights to perform.

Munich is where Bono’s back was repaired through surgery, and being in Munich means he’s discussing the incident and thanking the doctors and nurses who performed the surgery earlier in the year at the University Hospital. He mentions one nurse, Imke, by name, calling her “beautiful and beguiling”. Professor Tonn, who performed the surgery is in the audience tonight. Bono also thanked others who were part of the surgical team who helped to put him back together again.

For the band introductions Bono turns to beer. Augustiner for The Edge. Bockbier for Larry. Radler for Adam, and he tells the crowd he’s going to stick with the Guinness.

The band does three new songs tonight, songs which have not been released. They are all songs that were performed during the second night in Zurich. “Return of the Stingray Guitar” opens the show. “North Star” is performed after “I Still Haven’t Found What I’m Looking For”. The band gets a surprise when they realize the audience is singing the song back to them, Bono guesses correctly, “That would be the internet! That is an unexpected surprise, thank you! That’s our love song to the universe.” “Mercy” which had it’s debut in Zurich is played for the second time ever.

Snippets tonight include “My Sweet Lord” during “Mysterious Ways”. Bono adds a bit of Leonard Cohen’s “Anthem” to “Until the End of the World”. During “I’ll Go Crazy” snippets include both “Funky Town” and “Two Tribes”. During “Walk On” Bono add “You’ll Never Walk Alone”. “Where the Streets Have No Name” has snippets of “Amazing Grace”, “All you Need is Love” and “Purple Rain”. The extended verse of “One”, “Hear Us Coming” is included tonight. Bono isn’t the only one adding snippets. The Edge plays a riff from “Discotheque” during “I’ll Go Crazy” this evening.

At the end of the show after the band finishes “Moment of Surrender” Bono gets the crowd to sing along with him to “Singin’ in the Rain”. He’s wearing a jersey for the Bayern Munich football club while he does “Moment of Surrender”. They’ve been playing an important match and Bono shares that the home team has won the game while the band has been on stage.

Soundchecks this afternoon included “New Year’s Day” and some instrumental work on a number of songs.

Tickets for the show in Munich went on sale on October 10, with U2.Com presales starting on October 6.

Related News

Officially Released Tracks