Stade de France, Paris, France

Set List of Show:

Main Set:

  • "Return of the Stingray Guitar"
  • "Beautiful Day"
  • "I Will Follow"
  • "Get On Your Boots"
  • "Magnificent"
  • "Mysterious Ways"
  • "Elevation"
  • "Until the End of the World"
  • "I Still Haven't Found What I'm Looking For"
  • "North Star"
  • "Mercy"
  • "In a Little While"
  • "Miss Sarajevo"
  • "City Of Blinding Lights"
  • "Vertigo"
  • "I'll Go Crazy if I Don't Go Crazy Tonight"
  • "Sunday Bloody Sunday"
  • "MLK"
  • "Walk On"
Encore One:

  • "One"
  • "Where the Streets Have No Name"
Encore Two:

  • "Hold Me, Thrill Me, Kiss Me, Kill Me"
  • "With or Without You"
  • "Moment of Surrender"

Additional Music

Pre-Recorded Intro Song: "Space Oddity" - David Bowie
Pre-Recorded Exit Song: "Rocket Man" - Elton John

Snippets of Other Songs Performed by U2:

    "C Moon" (Wings) / "My Sweet Lord" (George Harrison) / "Anthem" (Leonard Cohen) / "Many Rivers to Cross" (Jimmy Cliff) / "Follow the Yellow Brick Road" (Judy Garland and the Munchkins) / "Teenage Kicks" (The Undertones) / "Funky Town" (Pseudo Echo) / "Two Tribes" (Frankie Goes to Hollywood) / "Relax" (Frankie Goes to Hollywood) / "I Gotta Feeling" (Black Eyed Peas) / "Get Up Stand Up" (Bob Marley) / "You'll Never Walk Alone" (from Carousel by Rodgers and Hammerstein) / "Amazing Grace" (John Newton and William Walker) / "All You Need is Love" (The Beatles) /

Show Details:

U2 move on to Paris next with the U2360 tour. They are playing the Stade de France located just outside of town in Saint-Denis. There’s a new opening act starting tonight, Interpol joins the tour for a number of shows. This is the third time the U2360 tour visits the Stade de France, after two earlier shows were held in 2009 on the first leg of the tour.

This show has three songs included which have not been released by U2 before. “Return of the Stingray Guitar” opens the show and is a fun instrumental which gives Bono a chance to interact with the audience. In the middle of the show the band play both “North Star” and “Mercy”. “North Star” has been performed five times at this point, and “Mercy” has been performed three times.

The band are welcomed by white balloons which have been given out in the crowd ahead of the show. During “In a Little While” Bono brings a girl on stage from the crowd. “Hold Me, Thrill Me, Kiss Me, Kill Me” is the rotational song in the encore tonight. “MLK” finds it way back into the setlist tonight instead of “Mothers of the Disappeared.”

Snippets tonight include “C Moon” and “My Sweet Lord” during “Mysterious Ways”. Leonard Cohen’s “Anthem” appears in “Until the End of the World” and “Many Rivers to Cross” ends “I Still Haven’t Found What I’m Looking For”. “Follow the Yellow Brick Road” is part of “City of Blinding Lights” and “Teenage Kicks” appears in “Vertigo”. “I’ll Go Crazy” includes snippets from “Two Tribes”, “Relax” and “I Gotta Feeling” as well as an instrumental snippet courtesy of the Edge including a riff from “Discotheque”. “Get Up Stand Up” is part of “Sunday Bloody Sunday”, “Walk On” contains “You’ll Never Walk Alone” and “Where the Streets Have No Name” includes both “Amazing Grace” and “All You Need is Love”.

DJ David Guetta is in the audience tonight. Others in the VIP area include Helena Christensen, Fabien Verschaere, Marion Cotillard, Christine Lagarde (Minister of Finance), Jack Lang (Minister of Culture), and Irish Ambassador Patrick Kavanagh. Some of Jay-Z’s team are also visiting the show tonight in advance of touring with U2 in Australia, checking out the stage setup.

In his tour diary for U2.com, Willie Williams relates, “I heard we had 96,000 people in the building tonight. It was yet another truly great show, with yet another fantastic audience. Every night feels like such a celebration. This is a great time to see U2. This is a great time to be U2 – the band is just on a roll right now, in fact I can’t remember a time when shows have been this consistently stratospheric, probably since ZooTV. They are very obviously having a wonderful time on this tour, absolutely at the top of their game, playing killer shows whilst writing, recording and performing new material in their spare time. There’s definitely a touch of the Zoo spirit in the air.”

Related News

Officially Released Tracks