Anoeta Stadium, San Sebastian, Spain

Set List of Show:

Main Set:

  • "Return of the Stingray Guitar"
  • "Beautiful Day"
  • "I Will Follow"
  • "Get On Your Boots"
  • "Magnificent"
  • "Mysterious Ways"
  • "Elevation"
  • "Until the End of the World"
  • "I Still Haven't Found What I'm Looking For"
  • "Spanish Eyes"
  • "Mercy"
  • "In a Little While"
  • "Miss Sarajevo"
  • "City Of Blinding Lights"
  • "Vertigo"
  • "I'll Go Crazy if I Don't Go Crazy Tonight"
  • "Sunday Bloody Sunday"
  • "MLK"
  • "Walk On"
Encore One:

  • "One"
  • "Where the Streets Have No Name"
Encore Two:

  • "Hold Me, Thrill Me, Kiss Me, Kill Me"
  • "With or Without You"
  • "Moment of Surrender"

Additional Music

Pre-Recorded Intro Song: "Space Oddity" - David Bowie
Pre-Recorded Exit Song: "Rocket Man" - Elton John

Snippets of Other Songs Performed by U2:

    "Anthem" (Leonard Cohen) / "Show Me the Way" (Peter Frampton) / "Relax" (Frankie Goes to Hollywood) / "You'll Never Walk Alone" (from Carousel by Rodgers and Hammerstein) / "Amazing Grace" (John Newton and William Walker) /

Show Details:

With Brussels behind them there are only five shows left on this leg of the U2360 tour. First up are two shows in Spain, today’s being in San Sebastian at Anoeta Stadium. This is U2’s second visit to this stadium, having visited once on the Vertigo tour. The opening act tonight is Interpol. The weather was rainy and cold the day before the show. The rain has stopped but it is still cold.

Duirng the introductions Bono mentions it is a “birthday of sorts” and points out that it was the 34th anniversary of the day U2 formed the day before. A new instrumental opening to “Vertigo” gets the crowd worked up even more.

After the introductions U2 break into “Spanish Eyes”. It’s a little heard B-side from The Joshua Tree recording sessions, written for Bono’s wife Ali. It’s only been played three times over the past 20 years, and this is the first time since it was played in Barcelona in 2001, so its inclusion tonight is welcome. It is the only performance of “Spanish Eyes” on the U2360 tour. After “Spanish Eyes” comes “Mercy”, one of the new songs that U2 has been performing on this tour. “Spanish Eyes” took the place of what is usually another new song, so this is the first time “Mercy” is played without following “North Star”.

Snippeted songs tonight include “Anthem” appearing in “Until the End of the World”, “Show Me the Way” appearing in “Vertigo”, “Relax” during “I’ll Go Crazy” and “You’ll Never Walk Alone” during “Walk On”. “Where the Streets Have No Name” is opened with “Amazing Grace”.

In his diary for U2.com Willie focuses on one aspect of the show that might have left an impression, “There was something horrifying brewing, an increasing stench of what appeared to be that old favourite combo of rotting cabbage and raw sewage. The overwhelming assault peaked right at show time and up in the mix position a wind of death was blowing directly into our faces. I can’t imagine where it was coming from but could only guess that there was a sewage plant next door to the stadium. Or possibly inside the stadium. It was absolutely horrifying, to the point where I found a spare pair of earplugs and shoved them up my nose.”

The show went onsale on December 1, 2009, with U2.com presales starting the previous week on November 25. The show is listed as a sell out after only two hours of sales.

(Thanks to Fernando for his contributions here.)

Related News

Officially Released Tracks