City of Coimbra Stadium, Coimbra, Portugal

Set List of Show:

Main Set:

  • "Return of the Stingray Guitar"
  • "Beautiful Day"
  • "New Year's Day"
  • "Get On Your Boots"
  • "Magnificent"
  • "Mysterious Ways"
  • "Elevation"
  • "Until the End of the World"
  • "I Still Haven't Found What I'm Looking For"
  • "Pride (In the Name of Love)"
  • "Boy Falls From the Sky"
  • "In a Little While"
  • "Miss Sarajevo"
  • "City Of Blinding Lights"
  • "Vertigo"
  • "I'll Go Crazy if I Don't Go Crazy Tonight"
  • "Sunday Bloody Sunday"
  • "MLK"
  • "Walk On"
Encore One:

  • "One"
  • "Where the Streets Have No Name"
Encore Two:

  • "Ultra Violet (Light My Way)"
  • "With or Without You"
  • "Moment of Surrender"
  • "Singin' In the Rain"

Additional Music

Pre-Recorded Intro Song: "Space Oddity" - David Bowie
Pre-Recorded Exit Song: "Singin' In the Rain" - Gene Kelly

Snippets of Other Songs Performed by U2:

    "Rain" (The Beatles) / "I Can't Stand the Rain" (Tina Turner) / "She Loves You" (The Beatles) / "Relax" (Frankie Goes to Hollywood) / "You'll Never Walk Alone" (from Carousel by Rodgers and Hammerstein) / "Amazing Grace" (John Newton and William Walker) /

Show Details:

After a beautiful first day in Coimbra, fans wake up to a wet rainy day in the city for U2’s second show at Estadio Cidade de Coimbra. Interpol is the opening act again today. The good news is the rain starts to ease off in the afternoon and the band is able to work on a new surprise in the show in the afternoon.

Introducing a new song, Bono shares, “In honour of last night and tonight, and the incredible welcome you’ve given us, we want to try something we have never played before, this could be interesting!”

The band proceeds to break into “Boy Falls From the Sky”, a song U2 have not released, nor ever played in concert before. With this song, the band have now debuted six songs throughout the tour leg. This song is one that Bono and The Edge have contributed to the Spider-Man: Turn Off the Dark musical. Unlike other songs in the show though, this one is credited as being written by U2, not just Bono and The Edge. (This however, isn’t the first live performance of the song, Reeve Carney who plays Spider-man in the musical performed the song on Good Morning America on September 10, introduced by Bono and The Edge.)

Speaking about the inclusion of the new song in the show, Willie Williams shares, “We’ve all got rather used to this new, fearless experimentation by U2 but it is quite remarkable that with only one show left after today they are trying to premiere yet another unreleased song. That’ll be six in all on this leg of the tour and it has done wonders for the mood of the show. There’s a real psychological freedom in what they’re doing just now.”

Ahead of “Boy Falls from the Sky” is the return of “Pride (In the Name of Love)” instead of another new song. Typically there’s been two new songs back to back at this position in the set list if they do new songs at all.

A surprise on the printed setlist doesn’t happen tonight. “Bad” is listed on the setlist, following “Where the Streets Have No Name” but it is there in parentheses, which in U2’s world means it’s a decision to be made on the stage whether or not they want to play it.

The rotational song in the encore is “Ultra Violet” this evening.

Snippets today include “Rain” in “Beautiful Day” and “I Can’t Stand the Rain” in “Mysterious Ways”. After that the rain clears up and so do the weather related snippets. “She Loves You” appears in “Vertigo” and “I’ll Go Crazy” get snippets of “Relax” at the start and end of the song. “You’ll Never Walk Alone” appears in “Walk On” as it has in most shows this tour, and “Amazing Grace” appears during “Where the Streets Have No Name”. As the rain begins again at the end of the night, Bono leads the crowd in a bit of “Singin’ in the Rain” at the end of the show.

Tickets for this show went on sale on October 24, with a U2.com presale starting on October 21.

Related News

Officially Released Tracks