Etihad Stadium, Melbourne, Australia

Set List of Show:

Main Set:

  • "Return of the Stingray Guitar"
  • "Beautiful Day"
  • "New Year's Day"
  • "Get On Your Boots"
  • "Magnificent"
  • "Mysterious Ways"
  • "Elevation"
  • "Until the End of the World"
  • "I Still Haven't Found What I'm Looking For"
  • "Stuck in a Moment You Can't Get Out Of"
  • "Pride (In the Name of Love)"
  • "In a Little While"
  • "Miss Sarajevo"
  • "City Of Blinding Lights"
  • "Vertigo"
  • "I'll Go Crazy if I Don't Go Crazy Tonight"
  • "Sunday Bloody Sunday"
  • "Scarlet"
  • "Walk On"
Encore One:

  • "One"
  • "Where the Streets Have No Name"
Encore Two:

  • "Ultra Violet (Light My Way)"
  • "With or Without You"
  • "Moment of Surrender"

Additional Music

Pre-Recorded Intro Song: "Space Oddity" - David Bowie
Pre-Recorded Exit Song: "Rocket Man" - Elton John

Snippets of Other Songs Performed by U2:

    "Blackbird" (The Beatles) / "Atomic" (Blondie) / "Heart of Glass" (Blondie) / "Movin' On Up" (Primal Scream) / "Rockaway Beach" (The Ramones) / "Funky Town" (Pseudo Echo) / "Relax" (Frankie Goes to Hollywood) / "Two Tribes" (Frankie Goes to Hollywood) / "You'll Never Walk Alone" (from Carousel by Rodgers and Hammerstein) / "I'll Stand By You" (The Pretenders) / "Amazing Grace" (John Newton and William Walker) /

Show Details:

This is the second of two concerts in Melbourne. After issues with his guitar rig the previous show, The Edge is present for soundcheck today, and time is spent going over the songs that were troublesome the previous night. There are no such difficulties today. Ahead of the show Bono also appeared on Australian radio at the farewell show for Hamish and Andy, playing two songs.

Tomorrow night is Jay-Z’s birthday. Bono asks the crowd to sing “Happy Birthday” to him ahead of “I Still Haven’t Found What I’m Looking For”. In the middle of the show, where U2 have been mixing up tracks, they play “Stuck in a Moment You Can’t Get Out Of” which is the first time the song is played in 2010. It is sung for Michael Hutchence tonight, with Bono explaining “We miss Michael Hutchence and this is a song we wrote for him”. The song is performed by Bono and The Edge. The second song in that segment is “Pride (In the Name of Love)”.

Other changes for the second show include “New Year’s Day” replacing “I Will Follow” and “Ultra Violet (Light My Way)” replacing “Hold Me, Thrill Me, Kiss Me, Kill Me”.

Debbie Harry from Blondie and Chrissie Hynde from the Pretenders are at the show this evening. There’s a “Heart of Glass” snippet at the start of “Elevation” and Bono includes “I’ll Stand By You” at the end of “One” to mark them being at the show. Other snippets include “Blackbird” during “Beautiful Day”, “Atomic” during “Mysterious Ways”, “Movin’ On Up” during “I Still Haven’t Found What I’m Looking For”, and “Rockaway Beach” during “Vertigo”. “I’ll Go Crazy” includes “Funky Town”, “Relax” and “Two Tribes” this evening. “You’ll Never Walk Alone” is part of “Walk On” and “Where the Streets Have No Name” starts with “Amazing Grace”.

Sales for this show were slow, and remaining ticket prices are dropped in the last few days heading up to the show.

The second Melbourne show is announced on September 5, after the first is listed as being sold out. Tickets go on sale on September 10, 2010.

Related News

Officially Released Tracks