Patersons Stadium, Subiaco, Australia

Set List of Show:

Main Set:

  • "Return of the Stingray Guitar"
  • "Beautiful Day"
  • "New Year's Day"
  • "Get On Your Boots"
  • "Magnificent"
  • "Mysterious Ways"
  • "Elevation"
  • "Until the End of the World"
  • "I Still Haven't Found What I'm Looking For"
  • "All I Want is You"
  • "Love Rescue Me"
  • "Desire"
  • "In a Little While"
  • "Miss Sarajevo"
  • "City Of Blinding Lights"
  • "Vertigo"
  • "I'll Go Crazy if I Don't Go Crazy Tonight"
  • "Sunday Bloody Sunday"
  • "Scarlet"
  • "Walk On"
Encore One:

  • "One"
  • "Where the Streets Have No Name"
Encore Two:

  • "Hold Me, Thrill Me, Kiss Me, Kill Me"
  • "With or Without You"
  • "Moment of Surrender"

Additional Music

Pre-Recorded Intro Song: "Space Oddity" - David Bowie
Pre-Recorded Exit Song: "Rocket Man" - Elton John

Snippets of Other Songs Performed by U2:

    "Happy XMas (War is Over)" (John Lennon) / "Never Tear Us Apart" (INXS) / "Discothèque" (U2) / "You'll Never Walk Alone" (from Carousel by Rodgers and Hammerstein) / "Amazing Grace" (John Newton and William Walker) / "Singin' In the Rain" (Gene Kelly) / "Party Girl" (U2) /

Show Details:

With just six days to go until Christmas, U2 play a second, and final show at Patersons Stadium in Subiaco, Australia. Jay-Z opens the show. This is the end of this leg of the tour, and the last show for 2010. The tour will next resume with a show in Johannesburg in February.

Like the second night in Australia, U2 do a small nod to Rattle and Hum in the middle of the show. U2 have fond memories of Australia through the years, especially the LoveTown tour done in support of that album. Tonight they do “All I Want is You” for the second time on tour. It is followed by “Love Rescue Me” which is also appearing for the second time. Finally the band add in a performance of “Desire” which wasn’t done in Sydney, and it’s the first time the song has been played in full at a full concert since the first leg of the U2360 tour in 2009. Perth was where “Desire” and “All I Want is You” made their live debut in a concert tour back in 1989. “Love Rescue Me” is reported by U2gigs.com to have been a late addition, and not on the original set list.

Bono is in a celebratory mood tonight and is having fun on the mic. He shares that “this is our last night of the year – this is our end of the year party” and calls the people of Perth “Sexy people.” He also apologizes to the band, “Happy Christmas Larry, Adam, Edge – if you don’t get any cards, I’ve been busy!” During “In A Little While” he brings two children onto the stage to walk around the stage.

“Party Girl” is snippeted ahead of “Moment of Surrender”. It is done in reply to a fan shouting out the request to Bono from the front rows. Only a single verse was done.

The night is a rainy one, but little more than a few showers. It does lead to some snippets of weather related songs including “Rain” in “Beautiful Day”, and “Singin’ in the Rain” during “Where the Streets Have No Name”. As it is near Christmas, Bono also adds a snippet of John Lennon’s “Happy Xmas (War is Over)” to “I Still Haven’t Found What I’m Looking For”. And with Beyoncé in the audience, “Single Ladies (Put a Ring On It)” and “Independent Woman” both get a snippet in “Mysterious Ways”. “Never Tear Us Apart” and “Need You Tonight” are both included in “All I Want is You” as a tribute to Michael Hutchence tonight.

Other snippets for the evening include “Discotheque” during “I’ll Go Crazy”, “You’ll Never Walk Alone” during “Walk On” and “Amazing Grace” and “All You Need is Love” during “Where the Streets Have No Name”.

Beyoncé is in attendance tonight, and she watches the U2 performance with her husband, Jay-Z. Several Cricket players are in attendance as well, including Michael Vaughn.

Related News

Officially Released Tracks