Cape Town Stadium, Cape Town, South Africa

Set List of Show:

Main Set:

  • "Beautiful Day"
  • "Get On Your Boots"
  • "Magnificent"
  • "I Will Follow"
  • "Mysterious Ways"
  • "Elevation"
  • "Until the End of the World"
  • "I Still Haven't Found What I'm Looking For"
  • "Stand By Me"
  • "North Star"
  • "Pride (In the Name of Love)"
  • "In a Little While"
  • "Miss Sarajevo"
  • "City Of Blinding Lights"
  • "Vertigo"
  • "I'll Go Crazy if I Don't Go Crazy Tonight"
  • "Sunday Bloody Sunday"
  • "Scarlet"
  • "Walk On"
Encore One:

  • "One"
  • "All You Need is Love"
Encore Two:

  • "Hold Me, Thrill Me, Kiss Me, Kill Me"
  • "With or Without You"
  • "Moment of Surrender"

Additional Music

Pre-Recorded Intro Song: "One Day Like This" - Elbow
Pre-Recorded Intro Song: "Get On Your Boots" (Fish Out of Water Remix Gospel Version) - U2 and the Soweto Gospel Choir
Pre-Recorded Exit Song: "Rocket Man" - Elton John
Pre-Recorded Intermission Song(s): "Fez - Being Born" (Medley) - U2
Pre-Recorded Intermission Song(s): "Zooropa" (Medley) - U2

Snippets of Other Songs Performed by U2:

    "Anthem" (Leonard Cohen) / "Relax" (Frankie Goes to Hollywood) / "Two Tribes" (Frankie Goes to Hollywood) / "You'll Never Walk Alone" (from Carousel by Rodgers and Hammerstein) / "Amazing Grace" (John Newton and William Walker) / "All You Need is Love" (The Beatles) /

Show Details:

The U2360 tour does a second, and final stop in South Africa, performing tonight in Cape Town. When announced Paul McGuinness shared, “South Africa has the best stadiums in the world now and we’re really looking forward to bringing the full U2360 production into these fantastic facilities.” The shows in South Africa make U2 the first band to stage concerts in the Soccer World Cup Stadiums in both Johannesburg and Cape Town. The show tonight is opened by Springbok Nude Girls and Amadou & Mariam.

Tonight is a special one, as the show is streamed worldwide to subscribers of U2.com. The subscriber only stream starts with a loop of U2 songs, and when the show started the feed went live to Cape Town, and audiences around the world could listen in. The show was also streamed live on 94.5 KFM in Africa.

The show like the on in Johannesburg opens with Elbow’s “One Day Like This” followed by a new remix of “Get On Your Boots” featuring the voices of the Soweto Gospel Choir. The mix is being called the “Rainbow People” mix of the song, and the band go into “Beautiful Day” out of the remix.

During the show, U2 are joined by Yvonne Chaka Chaka onstage. Bono calls her the “Princess of Africa”, and she’s a well known South African singer, songwriter, actress and humanitarian. Her own charity is “The Princess of Africa Foundation”. She sings “I Still Haven’t Found What I’m Looking For” with the band, and stays to sing “Stand By Me” with Bono as well. The latter is a full version of the song and not the more usual snippet at the end of “I Still Haven’t Found”. The band then continue into “North Star”, or rather Bono and The Edge did.

Band introductions cover the African safari, featuring the llama (Adam Clayton), the meerkat (Larry Mullen), the ring-tailed lemur and spider monkey (The Edge) and then Bono describes himself as “feet barely touching the ground…elegant…graceful…” and The Edge fills in calling Bono “The Wildebeest”.

Like the previous show in Johannesburg, Bono takes time out in the show to celebrate Nelson Mandela. The lyrics to “Pride (In the Name of Love)” are changed to be “February 13, 1990, words ring out under a Southern sky, Free at last, to live your life, the lion of Africa and his pride.”

Ahead of “City of Blinding Lights” there is a new opening, which uses samples from “Fez-Being Born”, “Zooropa”, questions from the U2 audience, and elements from Achtung Baby. The piece is pre-recorded and the band is not performing live. Willie Williams in his U2.Com diary shares, “However, in a fevered dream a couple of nights ago I realised that the answer isn’t Your Blue Room, but that it’s Fez, from No Line on the Horizon. Ironically, when I first envisaged the opening of the giant 360 video screen, the soundtrack I had in my head was Fez. I dropped this idea when it became evident that Being Born wasn’t going to make the show. I thought then (two years ago) that you couldn’t have one without the other but this week woke up and thought ‘well, of course we can.’ The result is a glorious mash of Fez, the audience-sourced questions, plus samples from Zooropa, odd bits of Achtung Baby and god knows what else thrown in on top. Bono and Edge sat with us to help make it all work and we finally (please god) finished it off.”

Snippets included throughout the show tonight include “The Way You Make Me Feel” in “Mysterious Ways”, “Anthem” in “Until the End of the World”, “Relax” and “Two Tribes” in “I’ll Go Crazy” and “You’ll Never Walk Alone” in “Walk On”. “Amazing Grace” and “All You Need is Love” are included with “Where the Streets Have No Name”.

The day ahead of the show, U2 play a new song not yet played live, but an older one from their catalog, as well as a couple of songs that they felt needed work, as well as the new intro. Details about this sound check are scarce. It is not known what the new song is.

Tickets for the show went on sale on October 23, with a special presale through U2.Com on October 20th.

Michael Mittermeier is at the show this evening.

Related News

Officially Released Tracks